GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,451 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
20 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Age of Industry Expansion #1: Japan and Minnesota» Forums » General

Subject: Sealanes and industry cards again... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Finland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What is the correct ruling in this debate?

http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/674108/japan-sea-lanes


This answer made most sense to me:

Patrick Jamet wrote:
I repeat : To build a port at a location with an industry card, you need one of these:
• a counter at this location,
• (or) a rail to this location,
• or a ship linked to this location.
It doesn't matter if you have a port at the opposite of the map.

By “a ship linked to this location”, I mean : your ship — ONE link (not a string of 24 links made of 23 other players' ships and one of yours lost somewhere in the middle) — the location.


Also the Martin Wallace answer supports it:
Martin Wallace wrote:

The wording in the rules should ahve been a little tighter. A sea lane has the potential to be a rail link for any player, but only if they have a counter at one end. You cannot use it to build from using an industry card if you do not have one of your counters at one of the two ends (one of these counters could be a rail link).

Hope that helps.

Martin Wallace
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Temple
United States
Lynnwood
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The thread does get confusing, but my interpretation matched yours.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Temple
United States
Lynnwood
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
One thing though, Martin did say "at one of the two ends". So I'd say it would also work if you had either a counter or rail at the opposite end of the sea lane.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.