GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
7,261 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
23 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

BattleCON: Devastation of Indines» Forums » Rules

Subject: Malandrax timing: Calculated rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alison Mandible
United States
Cambridge
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My opponent last night was playing Malandrax for the first time. She hit me with Calculated Grasp at range 2 and pulled me one space on hit.

"Then you lose 3 life, right?" she said.

"I thought it was the range from when you checked to see if the attack hit."

"But 'On Hit' effects happen before damage!"

This argument convinced me, but I'm still not 100% sure that's the intent. (And if so, is there a reason it's not explicitly "On Damage"?)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nate K
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think that makes sense. I would treat that effect as an On Damage effect, so you took 1 damage while at range 1.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Talton
United States
New Mexico
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
(╯‵Д′)╯彡┻━┻
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
grasa_total wrote:
"But 'On Hit' effects happen before damage!"


She's got it right. Grasp is a great way to make sure this attack connects on its Damage effect. This will probably be "On Damage" in the final game--it's just an oversight in the playtest version.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alison Mandible
United States
Cambridge
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Awesome. Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.