Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Starship Catan» Forums » Rules

Subject: Trade Colonies wit White Questions Marks rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brian Hazard
United States
Plainfield
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When visiting a trade outpost with a white question mark (meaning you can trade X astro for any one resource of your choice), the card specifically states that you can only do it once ("trade once resource of your choice..."). Last night while playing, my wife took possession of a trade outpost as her own that had the same writing on it. However, since she was then in possession of it, and her trading with it would not constitute an "action" in her flight plan, she argued that she should be able to trade as many times as she wanted for the "one resource of her choice." My argument was that she could only do it once per turn, because that is how they are handled during flight, and they have specific writing on the card that mentions "one" resource, whereas the other trade cards you can possess have no stipulation on them at all, meaning you can trade as many as you want.

Who's right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Denise Lavely
United States
Carmel
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Brian!! We have always played it that you can use these for only one resource, as you said. Also, on page 14 of the rules it says "If you establish a Trading Post on one of the Alien Outposts, you may take advantage of their trade in each of your Trading and Building Phases. However, as indicated on the text of these cards, you may only buy or sell 1 resource or Science point per turn at each of these outposts."

Try not to gloat too much about it tho so your wife will keep playing with you!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Tang
Malaysia
KL
WP
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quik_Fix wrote:
Who's right?

laugh Hahaha, thats a trick question. She is, of course.
But according to the rules, you can only trade once.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.