Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Wilderness War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Interception what happens after. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Martin Taylor
United States
Council Bluffs
Iowa
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You successfully intercept a unit in an adjacent area. The intercepting unit or force moves to the intercepted area and does battle. What happens to the units that conducted the intercept after battle? Do they remain in the area where the interception took place or do they return to the area they left?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Alexopoulos
United States
Clifton Park
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mgtaylor wrote:
You successfully intercept a unit in an adjacent area. The intercepting unit or force moves to the intercepted area and does battle. What happens to the units that conducted the intercept after battle? Do they remain in the area where the interception took place or do they return to the area they left?


It depends on which side wins the battle. If the intercepting units (defender) wins the battle, then they stay in the space they intercepted into and the attacker must retreat to the space from which they came. If the intercepted force (attacker) wins the battle, then the attacker stays in the space they were intercepted in, and the defender must retreat to an adjacent space[s] (assuming no fort or fortress).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randy C
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
Robert L Howard (Medal of Honor recipient)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Eric is right.

Rule 14.1 first bullet.

The intercepting focer becomes the defender in the battle. At this point it no longer matters that an interception took place.

Follow the normal Combat rules for battle and retreats.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Taylor
United States
Council Bluffs
Iowa
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If the intercepted force wins (the moving unit or force) can they continue movement? Thanks everyone for your quick responses.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randy C
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
Robert L Howard (Medal of Honor recipient)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

If the the attacker gets an overrun, they can continue. Just like any other battle.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Thamm
msg tools
mb
Unless the infiltrators were on a mountain hex when they were intercepted, in which case they would have to end movement there.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.