Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Fantastiqa» Forums » Rules

Subject: Open Quests 1-Point Bonus? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chad Taylor
United States
Darien
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Open Quests award a 1-Point Bonus token as well. This counts as one extra point towards the Quest Goal!"

This confused me for a while. Does this mean (as I've finally come to realize) that when you complete a quest on the board, you get the +1 token?

In my brain, I was seeing uncompleted quests as open quests, and so it seemed my unfinished quests would both be worth negative points and a +1 bonus each time I completed a quest.

Insanity, I know.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Crispin
United States
Wilmington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
open = public quests

yes, you get the +1

EDIT: And public quests since they do not belong to you until you accomplish them are never worth negative cups.
4 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kirk Bauer
United States
Smyrna
Georgia
flag msg tools
Colored baggies for your games, www.boardgamestorage.com.
badge
Colored baggies for your games, www.boardgamestorage.com.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I also noticed in the rules that it said to add the +1's to the board when refilling the public quests, so I think that should help.

Question: it actually doesn't mention adding +1's to the open quests during setup, only during refreshing them. Does anybody know if completing the first two (easier) public quests earns you the bonus point as well?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
kirkbauer wrote:

Question: it actually doesn't mention adding +1's to the open quests during setup, only during refreshing them. Does anybody know if completing the first two (easier) public quests earns you the bonus point as well?

The first two open quests (the ones with the shooting star on the lower right corner) do not get the +1 points bonus.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ender Wiggins
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Apparos Achaparos wrote:
kirkbauer wrote:

Question: it actually doesn't mention adding +1's to the open quests during setup, only during refreshing them. Does anybody know if completing the first two (easier) public quests earns you the bonus point as well?

The first two open quests (the ones with the shooting star on the lower right corner) do not get the +1 points bonus.

This was an accidental omission from the rules. The rules of the new rucksack edition of Fantastiqa (2014) do state that at setup a +1 Bonus Token is added to Open Quests. This clarification is described by Alf Seegert as applicable to the enchanted edition also, see his post here.

For more discussion on this issue, see these two threads:

Open quest set up and replenish question
+1 on Initial Open Quests?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
EndersGame wrote:
Apparos Achaparos wrote:
kirkbauer wrote:

Question: it actually doesn't mention adding +1's to the open quests during setup, only during refreshing them. Does anybody know if completing the first two (easier) public quests earns you the bonus point as well?

The first two open quests (the ones with the shooting star on the lower right corner) do not get the +1 points bonus.

This was an accidental omission from the rules. The rules of the new rucksack edition of Fantastiqa (2014) do state that at setup a +1 Bonus Token is added to Open Quests. This clarification is described by Alf Seegert as applicable to the enchanted edition also, see his post here.

For more discussion on this issue, see these two threads:

Open quest set up and replenish question
+1 on Initial Open Quests?
I know. It has been clarified since but at the time of writing the rules didn't mention the +1token.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.