You can't handle the truth?
I can't name a specific card at the moment, but there are several Trait cards that give you a VP for each cards with symbol X in the top left (for example) you have in play (or play later).
Probably over thinking this one, but lets say I have a card that gives a VP for each gun symbol I play (and have already played).
gun card = 1VP
Do I also get a VP for the Trait card that says; gun card = 1VP, if it also has a gun symbol?
Hope that made sense.
We always play that it does include itself if it has the symbol. You are capped at 3 anyway.
I'll try to find support in the rule book for this when I get time.