Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Citadels» Forums » Rules

Subject: Assassinating the King rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
P. Al Williams
United States
Holyoke
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Under the FAQ at Faidutti's site, it explains that should the bishop be assassniated, his districts can be then destroyed by the warlord, as he/she qwas never revealed.

Given is, if one assassinate's the king, doers the previous king still remain king?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis Hall
Australia
Brisbane
Queensland
flag msg tools
Monday Bio wrote:
Under the FAQ at Faidutti's site, it explains that should the bishop be assassniated, his districts can be then destroyed by the warlord, as he/she qwas never revealed.

Given is, if one assassinate's the king, doers the previous king still remain king?

No. There is a specific exception for the king in this regard in the English language rules. He does not collect income or otherwise get a turn, but he does take the crown.

In an earlier version of the German rules, there was no such exception, and an assassinated king did not take the crown.

No movement of the crown when the king is assassinated led to a situation in which a player would gain the crown, then repeatedly choose the assassin and assassinate the king to ensure that it was retained. Some players believed it to be a winning strategy. It usually wasn't, as the player was never gaining any real benefit from having the crown (but was avoiding ever getting assassinated or robbed), but some players saw it as beneficial to them. This tends to hose the player sitting to the right of the crown, because he always had to choose from the last two roles. So, the rule was changed to prevent this situation.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.