GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,755 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
16 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
23 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: so i'm sure i'm right..... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
trevor

Missouri
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Got into a little argument regarding recurring credits. He tried to tell me that if they aren't used they keep adding up each turn, so he had like 10 credits on his identity card. I'm pretty sure that they are not cumulative but just checking.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Kelly
United States
Longmont
Colorado
flag msg tools
Allow me to introduce myself. I am Hexachlorophene J. Goodfortune, Kidnapper-At-Large, and Devourer of Tortoises par Excellence, at your service.
badge
If you can read this, then this sentence is false.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are correct. If they were intended to accumulate, the card could just read "At the start of your turn, gain 2 credits" and the recurring credit symbol would be extraneous.
19 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alejandro G.
United States
Hurst
Texas
flag msg tools
Sometimes you have to roll the hard six.
badge
I'm getting my men...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bigGameGeek wrote:
Got into a little argument regarding recurring credits. He tried to tell me that if they aren't used they keep adding up each turn, so he had like 10 credits on his identity card. I'm pretty sure that they are not cumulative but just checking.


Page 30 of Rule Book:
Glossary

"Credit, Recurring": A credit that, when spent, returns to its host card at the start of that player's next turn. A player can only spend recurring credits as instructed by their host.

No where does it say, "accumulates if not used".

Your Friend: Wrong, tell him to stop cheating.
11 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guido Gloor
Switzerland
Ostermundigen
Bern
flag msg tools
The statement below is false.
badge
The statement above is correct.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rulebook wrote:
This symbol stands for recurring credit. It always appears with a numeral, such as 1>, which means “one recurring credit,” or 3>, which means “three recurring credits.” Any recurring credits a player spends are replaced on their host card at the beginning of that player’s turn. A player can only spend these credits as instructed by their host card.

No spending, no replacement. No accumulation.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benedetto Loffredo
Italy
Portici (NA)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
bigGameGeek wrote:
Got into a little argument regarding recurring credits. He tried to tell me that if they aren't used they keep adding up each turn, so he had like 10 credits on his identity card. I'm pretty sure that they are not cumulative but just checking.


We have also the Official FAQ 1.0:

FAQ wrote:
Recurring Credits
Recurring credits are placed on a card when the card becomes
active, and can be used immediately. Recurring credits do not
stack; a player only replaces recurring credits up to the number
listed on the card when his or her turn begins.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Gallagher
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmb
Can you imagine how insane NBN would be were this not the case?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
NanoXstatiC wrote:
Can you imagine how insane NBN would be were this not the case?



Can you imagine how playable NBN would be?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alejandro G.
United States
Hurst
Texas
flag msg tools
Sometimes you have to roll the hard six.
badge
I'm getting my men...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
byronczimmer wrote:
NanoXstatiC wrote:
Can you imagine how insane NBN would be were this not the case?



Can you imagine how playable NBN would be?


I see what you did there... ¬_¬
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
DK Kemler
United States
Sacramento
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I always just flip the credits to the advancment side to show them spent, and flip them back at the start of the turn.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Gallagher
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmb
byronczimmer wrote:
NanoXstatiC wrote:
Can you imagine how insane NBN would be were this not the case?



Can you imagine how playable NBN would be?


I smell a Weyland player.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, actually, NBN has been one of my favorites for quite some time.

It's just that the number of credits the NBN power grants is typically very low in my local scene.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Gallagher
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmb
byronczimmer wrote:
No, actually, NBN has been one of my favorites for quite some time.

It's just that the number of credits the NBN power grants is typically very low in my local scene.


You don't play NBN for it's faction power. It's entirely lackluster. You play NBN for tag and bag with scorched earth. There's also a lot of potential for fast advancement builds but the card pool isn't quite where it needs to be for this strategy to prevail.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
NanoXstatiC wrote:
byronczimmer wrote:
No, actually, NBN has been one of my favorites for quite some time.

It's just that the number of credits the NBN power grants is typically very low in my local scene.


You don't play NBN for it's faction power. It's entirely lackluster. You play NBN for tag and bag with scorched earth. There's also a lot of potential for fast advancement builds but the card pool isn't quite where it needs to be for this strategy to prevail.


So basically we currently play NBN *despite* the ID ability in order to access the Agenda of the faction.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregory Pettigrew
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
byronczimmer wrote:
So basically we currently play NBN *despite* the ID ability in order to access the Agenda of the faction.


Just like Weyland.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Gallagher
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmb
Direct tagging > Trace is all I am saying.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
etherial wrote:
byronczimmer wrote:
So basically we currently play NBN *despite* the ID ability in order to access the Agenda of the faction.


Just like Weyland.


I disagree with this. Weyland's ability is worth about 5 credits across a game. Not as many as HB's insane 1credit rebate per turn, but still somewhat worthy.

Weyland also encourages use of instant money assets over asset based ones, and future Operation:Transactions will make things interesting because decks with no Melanges or PADs or any other Asset based economy will be possible.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Gallagher
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmb
I agree that Weyland's abillity is waiting to get better as the game gets bigger in card pool.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Turbeau Delacroix
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmb
degamer wrote:
I always just flip the credits to the advancment side to show them spent, and flip them back at the start of the turn.


Nice idea. I'm going to have to start doing this.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alejandro G.
United States
Hurst
Texas
flag msg tools
Sometimes you have to roll the hard six.
badge
I'm getting my men...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If I use the 2 credits to assist in tracing, I just tap and turn the card sideways. ¬_¬
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron s
msg tools
xpiredsodapop wrote:
If I use the 2 credits to assist in tracing, I just tap and turn the card sideways. ¬_¬


That would be all fine and good unless I only want to use one and save the second for a later trace that turn (for whatever reason).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alejandro G.
United States
Hurst
Texas
flag msg tools
Sometimes you have to roll the hard six.
badge
I'm getting my men...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Syphus wrote:
xpiredsodapop wrote:
If I use the 2 credits to assist in tracing, I just tap and turn the card sideways. ¬_¬


That would be all fine and good unless I only want to use one and save the second for a later trace that turn (for whatever reason).


...easy. Rip the card into two halves and turn one one sideways when you use the credit.
1 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mat Nowak
Canada
Halifax
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Anytime I use recurring credits I simply move them from the image part of the card down to the text to show I've spent them. Then when my turn begins again I just move them back up. Faster than removing them off the card completely or even flipping them I've found.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
CD Harris
United States
Louisville
KY
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
degamer wrote:
I always just flip the credits to the advancment side to show them spent, and flip them back at the start of the turn.


I use Brain Damage tokens for Corp recurring credits.

Because the Corp doesn't need brains.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.