Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Shadow Hunters» Forums » Rules

Subject: Mutually assured destruction- Can Shadows and Hunters both win? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Greg Filpus
United States
Bellevue
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Shadow win condition is "All the Hunters are dead," and the Hunter win condition is "All the Shadows are dead." Since you can win if you're dead, what happens if an attack simultaneously kills the last Hunter and the last Shadow? (Machine Gun or Judgment from a neutral) Do both sides win?

This didn't actually happen, but we discussed the hypothetical, as it could lead to an "Everyone but Bob wins" scenario. It's never good to be Bob.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian M
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep, both sides win.

Theoretically, there are a few situations where everyone can win. But in over 300 plays I've never seen it actually happen.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brent Wenerstrom
United States
Riverton
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Check this session report for an actual game time situation: Wait... who won?.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Grabiner
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
GregF wrote:
The Shadow win condition is "All the Hunters are dead," and the Hunter win condition is "All the Shadows are dead." Since you can win if you're dead, what happens if an attack simultaneously kills the last Hunter and the last Shadow? (Machine Gun or Judgment from a neutral) Do both sides win?

This didn't actually happen, but we discussed the hypothetical, as it could lead to an "Everyone but Bob wins" scenario. It's never good to be Bob.


Bob can win too, if he kills the last Shadow and Hunter with a machine gun, flare of judgment, or dynamite, and takes enough equipment from the kill. Other Neutrals may also share in the win, except Charles and (from the expansion) David; Bob, Charles, and David can only win on a kill if it is their own.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.