Deividas Burokas
Lithuania
Kaunas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I played some patrol and convoy scenarios, but before starting campaign game, I need help with some rule explanations:

1. [3.11] Task Force and Submarine Cups List says to put French submarine Caiman in Allied Submarine Cup in War Period 1, but printed entry date on submarine is 7/40. So when to put this submarine in cup?

2. [27.1] at the end says "If the submarine conducting surface gunnery does not conduct a torpedo attack in one of the attack rounds, apply a -1 modifier to the Endurance roll [14.7]". I understand that if in ONE attack round there was surface gunnery, in another torpedo attack (sequence of rounds doesn't matter), I get -1 Endurance modifier. But [14.7] says "iii) Only conducted surface gunnery combat", which means no torpedo attack at all. So which is right?

3. [15.24] rule about Cautious transit belongs to larger rule issue [15.2] which speaks about "Return to Base (RTB)". [15.24] does not belong to larger rule issue [15.1] "Deployment". Does this mean that cautious transit is only available on RTB transit movement? Another question: if cautious transit is available from base to OpArea (deployment) is it legal to use [15.12] "Close hunting grounds", move at speed "one" from Germany to North Sea OpArea, and get bonus [19.1] "Subtract one if the submarine is conducting Cautious Transit [15.24]"?

4. [14.18] says "and attack results rolls are raised by two". Does it supplement rule [14.16]C, or [14.16]D, or both? I think only [14.16]D is right option.

5. [36.14] I understand, that first request (from -1 to zero) I can make only when I sunk 80 or more ships. If it failed, can I make another request in the next turn if I did not sink any more ships at that turn, or I must wait until I will sink 85 ships?

6. [24.21] says "If a Diligent Escort counter is drawn, its attack is made on a randomly chosen U-Boat prior to placing it in its proper column". What does it mean "placing IT in ITS proper column"? Submarines are already placed earlier by rule [24.12]. Or rule [24.21] applies to those submarines that are "off-display" by rule [24.13]?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nikos Diavatis
Greece
Melissia
Attica
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi, answers below in red

I played some patrol and convoy scenarios, but before starting campaign game, I need help with some rule explanations:

1. [3.11] Task Force and Submarine Cups List says to put French submarine Caiman in Allied Submarine Cup in War Period 1, but printed entry date on submarine is 7/40. So when to put this submarine in cup?

Rule [3.12] is clear about that; Caiman enters the cup in 7/40

2. [27.1] at the end says "If the submarine conducting surface gunnery does not conduct a torpedo attack in one of the attack rounds, apply a -1 modifier to the Endurance roll [14.7]". I understand that if in ONE attack round there was surface gunnery, in another torpedo attack (sequence of rounds doesn't matter), I get -1 Endurance modifier. But [14.7] says "iii) Only conducted surface gunnery combat", which means no torpedo attack at all. So which is right?

You get -1 Endurance modifier if you didn't make a torpedo attack in any of the attack rounds.

3. [15.24] rule about Cautious transit belongs to larger rule issue [15.2] which speaks about "Return to Base (RTB)". [15.24] does not belong to larger rule issue [15.1] "Deployment". Does this mean that cautious transit is only available on RTB transit movement?

no, it doesn't make too much sense. Cautious Transit is a possibility for Deployment and for RTB.

Another question: if cautious transit is available from base to OpArea (deployment) is it legal to use [15.12] "Close hunting grounds", move at speed "one" from Germany to North Sea OpArea, and get bonus [19.1] "Subtract one if the submarine is conducting Cautious Transit [15.24]"?

yes

4. [14.18] says "and attack results rolls are raised by two". Does it supplement rule [14.16]C, or [14.16]D, or both? I think only [14.16]D is right option.

[14.16]D

5. [36.14] I understand, that first request (from -1 to zero) I can make only when I sunk 80 or more ships. If it failed, can I make another request in the next turn if I did not sink any more ships at that turn, or I must wait until I will sink 85 ships?

Are you using the Political War rules [36.0]? If yes, it doesn't matter how many ships you've sunk - you just need enough Prestige Points. If not, 6.0 is crystal clear - you need 85 to try again.

6. [24.21] says "If a Diligent Escort counter is drawn, its attack is made on a randomly chosen U-Boat prior to placing it in its proper column". What does it mean "placing IT in ITS proper column"? Submarines are already placed earlier by rule [24.12]. Or rule [24.21] applies to those submarines that are "off-display" by rule [24.13]?

The Diligent Escort attacks a random U-Boat before being placed in its proper column
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Deividas Burokas
Lithuania
Kaunas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank You for the answers!

grunherz wrote:
Hi, answers below in red

1. [3.11] Task Force and Submarine Cups List says to put French submarine Caiman in Allied Submarine Cup in War Period 1, but printed entry date on submarine is 7/40. So when to put this submarine in cup?

Rule [3.12] is clear about that; Caiman enters the cup in 7/40

Was confused cause Task Force and Submarine Cups List says what to do with other submarines, e.g. WP2 "August 1940: Add Dutch O-23". And also [8.0] Master Submarine Reinforcment List says the same, but nothing about Caiman in July 1940.

grunherz wrote:

5. [36.14] I understand, that first request (from -1 to zero) I can make only when I sunk 80 or more ships. If it failed, can I make another request in the next turn if I did not sink any more ships at that turn, or I must wait until I will sink 85 ships?

Are you using the Political War rules [36.0]? If yes, it doesn't matter how many ships you've sunk - you just need enough Prestige Points. If not, 6.0 is crystal clear - you need 85 to try again.

Yes, the question was about Political rules. So, if I gained enough Prestige in Week 1, Septempber 1939, can I make torpedo improvement request in Week 2, no matter how many ships sunk? And repeat in Week 3, if enough Prestige points?

grunherz wrote:

6. [24.21] says "If a Diligent Escort counter is drawn, its attack is made on a randomly chosen U-Boat prior to placing it in its proper column". What does it mean "placing IT in ITS proper column"? Submarines are already placed earlier by rule [24.12]. Or rule [24.21] applies to those submarines that are "off-display" by rule [24.13]?

The Diligent Escort attacks a random U-Boat before being placed in its proper column

Does "ITS proper column" mean that Diligent Escort is placed in the SAME column where IT was flipped? But that is the basic rule [14.12]. Another question in which columns submarines can be "randomly chosen"? If I have on Large Convoy Display 2 submarines in Outer Left, 2 submarines in Inner Left and one submarine in Center Left, Diligent Escort was flipped in Outer Left column. So which Submarines are "randomly chosen"?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Deividas Burokas
Lithuania
Kaunas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hermit1970 wrote:

grunherz wrote:

5. [36.14] I understand, that first request (from -1 to zero) I can make only when I sunk 80 or more ships. If it failed, can I make another request in the next turn if I did not sink any more ships at that turn, or I must wait until I will sink 85 ships?

Are you using the Political War rules [36.0]? If yes, it doesn't matter how many ships you've sunk - you just need enough Prestige Points. If not, 6.0 is crystal clear - you need 85 to try again.

Yes, the question was about Political rules. So, if I gained enough Prestige in Week 1, Septempber 1939, can I make torpedo improvement request in Week 2, no matter how many ships sunk? And repeat in Week 3, if enough Prestige points?

Found answer in [36.61]G, which says to use Torpedo Improvement Table. First time 80 ships must be sunk. Reading this [G] rule I think I can make another improvement request (if failed earlier turn from -1 to zero) in next turns without need of 85 ships (or more) sunk?

grunherz wrote:

6. [24.21] says "If a Diligent Escort counter is drawn, its attack is made on a randomly chosen U-Boat prior to placing it in its proper column". What does it mean "placing IT in ITS proper column"? Submarines are already placed earlier by rule [24.12]. Or rule [24.21] applies to those submarines that are "off-display" by rule [24.13]?

The Diligent Escort attacks a random U-Boat before being placed in its proper column

Does "ITS proper column" mean that Diligent Escort is placed in the SAME column where IT was flipped? But that is the basic rule [14.12]. Another question in which columns submarines can be "randomly chosen"? If I have on Large Convoy Display 2 submarines in Outer Left, 2 submarines in Inner Left and one submarine in Center Left, Diligent Escort was flipped in Outer Left column. So which Submarines are "randomly chosen"?[/q]

7. [31.11] Special. Rule says in the first turn to skip Strategic segment, but in the next sentence mentions only War Event, Torpedo improvement and B-Dienst area. Can I use [7.4] Determine weather systems and [7.5] Place German Aircraft in first turn of campaign? When playing with political rules I think that I don't have German aircraft in first turn, is that right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcel Gałka
Poland
Katowice
flag msg tools
When it comes to French submarine, I asked the same question on Consim World and got this answer from Stephen Jackson (post #8859):

"The entry dates for the French submarines are for purposes of Vichy France joining the Axis as per the optional political rules.
Caïman herself was commissioned in 1928 so is available to the Allied Submarine Cup in War Period 1."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.