War of the Ring (Second Edition)» Forums » General

Subject: UPDATED!!!!! 4-4-2013 WOTR - The 3D table version project! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
sean lukie
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello BGG! This is my first real post on here but I wanted to share a project I'm building with the WOTR community. My name is Sean Lukie and I started playing WOTR for the first time just a few months ago. I've been a LOTR fan since childhood and since now I'm in my early 40's that's been quite awhile. With all the gaming my group of friends does I'm very surprised we hadn't tried this game before. It was without a doubt a pleasant surprise to find out the level of detail involved in the game. My friend Tom purchased the game and we began some play sessions learning the game as we went. While we still don't have many of the strategies down (we have yet to see a real shadow military victory) we look forward to figuring them out.

As we played we talked about how cool it would be to have all painted figures to use. Being a long time Warhammer fantasy miniatures player / painter I decided well heck, I already had the 4 hobbits and strider painted up along with 5 nazgul from the Games Workshop set, so we started using those. That escalated into me buying a gandalf the white, saruman and wormtongue from the same line and painting them up to use. I then started looking and decided I would love to replace all of the minis with the larger scale Games Workhshop line... however there was one problem, the board would have to be quite a bit bigger!

That led me down the path of... what if I re-created the entire middle earth map on a 6' x 4' board complete with grass flocking, 3d terrain, etc. And away I went. I'm fairly sure Tom think I'm crazy still.
This article then is going to be about the creation of the table and pictures of each step along the way and the successful or unsuccessful decisions I made.