Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Empire of the Sun» Forums » Rules

Subject: Taking Hits rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Global Nomad
Portugal
Barcelona
flag msg tools
The 16th century São João Baptista, also known as Botafogo (Spitfire) was a Portuguese galleon warship considered the most powerful warship in the world at the time.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Another question. When resolving a Naval/Air combat there is no priority how hits are applied correct ? (other then not being able normally to apply a hit on a reduced unit, killing it, when other non-reduced units are present)

For example if during an Offensive a player declares a battle hex, where the opponent has a carrier, this carrier could strike the Offensive player air units within his range first, it does not need to apply hits to the battle hex first correct ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greig Goodfellow
Canada
Allanburg
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mpires wrote:
Another question. When resolving a Naval/Air combat there is no priority how hits are applied correct ? (other then not being able normally to apply a hit on a reduced unit, killing it, when other non-reduced units are present)

For example if during an Offensive a player declares a battle hex, where the opponent has a carrier, this carrier could strike the Offensive player air units within his range first, it does not need to apply hits to the battle hex first correct ?


Not really clear on your example. If a player declares a battle hex and within the said hex was an enemy carrier. The enemy carrier could if reacting move out of hex but would have to stay close enough to still be part of the battle. It could not react its air to another battle hex. The first part of your statement is correct with the sddition of number of air units not in actual battle hex may restrict a player when assigning hits.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Global Nomad
Portugal
Barcelona
flag msg tools
The 16th century São João Baptista, also known as Botafogo (Spitfire) was a Portuguese galleon warship considered the most powerful warship in the world at the time.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ok, I will try to make it more clear.

1. Lets say the Japanese player declares one hex as battle hex.

2. As part of his Offensive, The Japanese will activate a carrier unit J that is in range of the battle hex.

3. The Ally has in the battle hex among other units, a carrier unit A. The Japanese carrier J is in range of this carrier.

When resolving the battle can the Ally apply hits to carrier J instead of applying hits first to offensive japanese units in the battle hex.

In another terms, can the reaction player apply hits to enemy units other than in the battle hex ?


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Herman
United States
New York
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mpires wrote:
ok, I will try to make it more clear.

1. Lets say the Japanese player declares one hex as battle hex.

2. As part of his Offensive, The Japanese will activate a carrier unit J that is in range of the battle hex.

3. The Ally has in the battle hex among other units, a carrier unit A. The Japanese carrier J is in range of this carrier.

When resolving the battle can the Ally apply hits to carrier J instead of applying hits first to offensive japanese units in the battle hex.

In another terms, can the reaction player apply hits to enemy units other than in the battle hex ?




Yes

This gets asked in numerous ways but all that matters is whether a unit is in range of OR in the battle hex. The range of units to each other is never an issue. Sans a critical hit, as long as full strength units are reduced before reduced units are eliminated there is no priority order to how hits are inflicted.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Global Nomad
Portugal
Barcelona
flag msg tools
The 16th century São João Baptista, also known as Botafogo (Spitfire) was a Portuguese galleon warship considered the most powerful warship in the world at the time.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
great, thanks, clear now
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.