Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Twilight Imperium (Third Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: First Speaker can select Initiative? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rami S
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Once a speaker is randomly selected, for the first turn, can he select Initiative strategy card ?

Thanks
RS
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Bowsher
United States
Hilliard
Ohio
flag msg tools
Last time I played, which was last Friday, he could. Although in our group Imperial was taken.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam Carroll
United States
Urbana
Illinois
flag msg tools
Soli Deo Gloria!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you could. But if you select Initiative, then Player #2 (the one to your left) can take Imperial for 2 VP. And he'll take it AGAIN next turn unless you do. And, of course, if you do, then he'll take Initiative and then take Imperial the turn after. Which means that after 3 turns, Player #2 has 4 VP from the Imperial strategy. Which means that unless the rest of you all pile on him, he's got the game pretty much wrapped up.

Of course, if you play with the "Star in the Crown" variant this scenario is somewhat mitigated, and if you play with "The Ancient Throne," then it's entirely removed. Hmm - Initiative might not be a bad choice then. It lets you reserve your CCs for tactical actions the first turn and then pick, say, Technology next time. Cute meeple.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.