Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Ark» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rain Cards, Choosing a Pet rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Smith
United States
Maryville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Rules state that when the second rain card is drawn, each player has the opportunity to choose a pet. The implication (and the way we interpreted this last night) was that it is a one-time opportunity and if you don't choose a pet at that time (2 players lacked any suitable pets at that instant) you may not ever choose a pet.

Questions: 1) Is it in fact a one-time opportunity, or is the opportunity open from the time the second rain card comes out until the endgame starts, or even into the endgame?

2) Who chooses a pet first? The player who drew the 2nd rain card, or their left-hand neighbor? Clockwise? All at once?

3) Does the player who drew the 2nd rain card get to draw its replacement into his hand (it was the second of his two-card draw when it came out) before having to choose a pet?

I like the game. It seems a little fiddly until you start playing, but then we found that the rules are so well-fitted to the theme that they make good sense. Several players commented that this was one of the better-integrated themes they'd seen. And it plays quickly. We had a lot of fun with it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Kinsey
United States
Lancaster
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mark-

Here's how we play:

1. The pet is a one-time option; the 2nd rain card comes up and everyone chooses whether or not to play one.
2. It doesn't matter what order the players play their pets in (they are played from their hands facedown).
3. We make the rain drawer play his pet BEFORE his second draw.

It's a little fiddly to begin with, I agree, but that's what makes the game fun - and you're right, it fits the theme to a tee!

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Crawford
United States
Bellevue
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
For choosing a pet, Frank (one of the game designers) agrees that if you don't have a suitable card when the 2nd rain card comes up you can't have a pet. Ie Selecting a pet is a one-time option, so you should plan ahead.

See http://duf.spieleck.de/pipermail/duf-talk/2007q1/000063.html for the German explanation of this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.