Subject: Warmachine or Confrontation? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bradley Blodgett
United States
Elyria
Ohio
flag msg tools
Hi all, I have been lurking aroung for a while, and have been out of gaming for a number of years, and my background is mostly D&D RPG. I have been collecting a minis from a bunch of different game systems of the past few years. I mostly just like the painting hobby, but I am now looking for a game system that I can hopefully get in to and play outside my house, or with my wife at home. I have an almost completed starter group from Warmachine that I was planning on taking to an open beginner's tournament at one of the local gaming stores. I also own a group of Dirz figs from Confrontation that are still as yet unpainted. I have been reading the reviews on both games and it seems like Confrontation and Hybrid have some difficult to learn rules. I have read through the rules for Warmachine, and they seem really straightforward and easy to use. I don't know of any local people playing Confrontation, but I really don't get out to the stores that much. The only reason I know of any local happenings if through the store websites. So I guess what I'm looking for is opinions. Do I hold on to the Confrontation figs (Most are compatable with Hybrid), or Ebay them, and use the $$ to buy another Warmachine starter? Thanks for your input!

SubG

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Gunter
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
My opinion and experience is that Warmachine is a much more accessible and intuitive game. For example:

In Warmachine the cards describe all of the abilities fairly clearly, and clearly label everything you need to know about the figure. The cards in Confrontation use a bunch of cryptic symbols and one-word names of the abilities that need to be referenced in the book.