Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Iranian Hostage Crisis & Terrrorism rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Richard Irving
United States
Salinas
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a question about these two cards:

Iranian Hostage Crisis says, "Doubles effect of Terrorism card against U.S." (Emphasis added)

Terrorism card says, "Opponent must randomly discard one card, or must discard two cards if Iranian Hostage Crisis has already been played." No mention of doubling only only against the U.S. Also Terrorism can be played against either side.

Does Terroism after IHC force the Soviet player to discard two cards?

Also Iranian Hostage Crisis should have been underlined as well.

Haven't played yet, hope to get a game in this weekened.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
L. Scott Johnson
United States
Columbia
South Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd say the intent was that the USSR player would only discard one card, and that that text was accidentally omitted from Terrorism. (Under the assumption that it's a lot easier to accidentally forget text than to add "against US" accidentally.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen Doum
United States
Orange County
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It has been confirmed by Jason (the developer) on CSW that only the US discard is doubled.

As to the card not being underlined, there are several such cards. All underlined cards have lingering effects of some kind, but for non-underlined cards you will have to read the text. You could just underline them yourself, if you are willing to.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Irving
United States
Salinas
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the responses!

Quote:
As to the card not being underlined, there are several such cards. All underlined cards have lingering effects of some kind, but for non-underlined cards you will have to read the text. You could just underline them yourself, if you are willing to.


Also, each of the lingering effect cards (i.e. underlined ones) also has a beige chit to keep track of them. There are three cards which are not underlined which have chits: Iranian Hostage Crisis, Marshall Plan and An Evil Empire.

There are also a few other non-underlined cards (which also do not have a chit) which have lingering effects for the current turn only: Vietnam Revolts, Containment, Red Scare/Purge, Nuclear Subs, Brezhnev Doctrine, U2 Incident, Latin American Death Squads, Iran-Contra Scandal, Chernobyl.

I think these should been underlined (or indicated in some other way). Something for the second edition.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Aaronson
United States
Rochester
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Does that mean that Terrorism causes and US/USSR to discard 2/1 cards after Iranian Hostage Crisis has been played or 4/2?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
US discards 2 if USSR plays Terrorism after IHC, but 1 if before.

USSR always discards 1 to USA play of Terrorism.

4 cards would be truly disastrous.

Terrorism is often the only reason for USSR to play IHC as an event, since USSR often controls Iran already.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.