Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Pirates of the Spanish Main» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questions on shooting and boarding? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Filipello
United States
Pleasant Hill
California
flag msg tools
mbmb
Well my wife and I started playing this game and ... we're hooked! Ships are a little delicate (wife sunk two ships before we even started - BOOM!) So, I'll be trying the plastic weld to fix a couple of masts.

So, the questions:

1) I am towing a derelict, wife rams my towing ship and is of course pinned. Can she in a boarding action take the derelict back just like any other treasure?

2) Can the pinned or rammed ship fire on each other if clear shots are determined?

3) During a shoot move can 1 ship fire upon 2 or more ships that are within range during the same move.

All these questions are in regards to not using any rule/game variations.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Biggar
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
WaterDragon wrote:
Well my wife and I started playing this game and ... we're hooked! Ships are a little delicate (wife sunk two ships before we even started - BOOM!) So, I'll be trying the plastic weld to fix a couple of masts.

So, the questions:

1) I am towing a derelict, wife rams my towing ship and is of course pinned. Can she in a boarding action take the derelict back just like any other treasure?


No, a ship is not a treasure. Though if you manage ot derelect a hip by ramming it the towed ship is now a free floating derelect and can be boarded and claimed

Quote:

2) Can the pinned or rammed ship fire on each other if clear shots are determined?


Yes, but watch out if you are pinned by a ship that is docked at its home port, it can shoot at you but you can't shoot back. So ramming a ship docked at its home port is sucidial.

Quote:


3) During a shoot move can 1 ship fire upon 2 or more ships that are within range during the same move.



Shoot actions are very liberal. Each mast's cannon shot can be independentally targeted and fired. All the shots from a ship do not have to target the same ship. You may shoot and resolve (roll the die) for each mast's cannon one at a time and see what happens before targeting and shooting with a different mast's cannon. Making a range measurement does not commit you to firing at that target.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.