Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

High Bohn Plus» Forums » Rules

Subject: Do players start w/ 3rd bean field in 3-player game? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Giancarlo Dozzi
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Just wondering if this changes at all from the original game when using this expansion. If players do start w/ the 3rd bean field, it has the unfortunate effect of making the 2-cost garden bean building useless.

-Giancarlo
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jen Mueller
United States
Washington
DC
flag msg tools
We just went through it with 3-players, each with the 3rd bean field and noticed the effect you mention. I think we may try it without starting with the 3rd been field to increase the challenge. There's just so much going on with the expansion, compared to the base game . . . that might slow us down a bit in the beginning.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J
Canada
Slave Lake
AB
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We played 3p yesterday, and I had forgotten than you get a third bean field to start with in the 3p base game. i.e., we started with two bean fields each. It worked. (And you're right about the 2-coin garden bean building.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren M
Canada
Fort Vermilion
AB
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
gdozzi wrote:
Just wondering if this changes at all from the original game when using this expansion. If players do start w/ the 3rd bean field, it has the unfortunate effect of making the 2-cost garden bean building useless.

-Giancarlo


Just to be clear (and a bit pedantic)... it's not quite true that the 2-cost Garden bean building is useless in 3 player games as the building still counts towards the end game bonus for owning 4,5,6,7 or 8 buildings. Since you get 5 thalers for owning 7 buildings and 8 thalers for owning 8 buildings... this building could potentially be worth 3 extra thalers in the endgame which could possibly be the difference between winning or not.

There are actually several buildings where the attributes written on the cards may never be useful as the situation described on those buildings may never come up while you own them.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.