Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Blue Moon» Forums » Rules

Subject: The effect of booster. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
litho chong
Taiwan
Hsinchu city
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi All,

I have played bluemoon many times and last night i suddenly thought that i might be playing something wrong all the time.

I generally applied the special text of the booster card to the character. Is that correct?

For example:

I am playing Vulca.

I already played an active support card in my previous turn: Flickering Fire with a 1 fire.

Now, if i play a character card (Ignite, 2 fire) and a booster card (elemental enchantment, total power increases to 6).

What is the total power of fire?
is it 6+1(from support card)=7?
or just 6?

sorry if this kind of question have been answer somewhere, i have tried to find it, but couldn't find any.


cheers,
litho

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Stude
United States
Farmington Hills
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There's something in the rulebook and in the FAQ about this. I don't remember the exact text, but it's something along these lines: total power is calculated after you add all value increasers to maximize the value, then apply all value decreasers to minimize the value. In this particular situation, you'd add the 1 fire from Flickering Fires to maximize your power at 3, then add in the effects of the booster for a final total power of 6.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kane Klenko
United States
Ridgeway
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If the card says Total Power, then it's just 6. Total Power takes into effect all cards.

If the card had said that you characters power is increased to 6, then your power would be 7 (6 for the character + booster and 1 for the support).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Stude
United States
Farmington Hills
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's something I meant to type in my initial response but I was trying to fly through the post cus I was on my way out the door to work. Total power is the final value you announce to your opponent after applying all modifiers.

Incidentally, here's the section of the FAQ that applies to this:

Q: If I play Glimmer [Vulca 13] (Earth value 3) and Earthwater [Aqua 20,
Flit deck] ("My total power in Earth increases to 7.") with an active
Tome of Wisdom [Hoax 20] (Earth value 3) what is my total power? What
about if I replace Glimmer by Heroine of the Great Plains [Mimix 06,
Vulca deck] (Earth value 5)?

A: 7, and 8. The key point is that Earthwater applies to total power, so
it happens last. So first you add the character and the support,
getting 6 or 8 in the two cases. Then in the first case Earthwater
increases total power to 7. In the second case Earthwater does not
reduce the total power to 7, it stays at 8. (Rulebook page 18,
under 7: 'If there is more than one instruction influencing the fire
or earth values of other cards, first apply all increasing
instructions in the order that maximizes the values, then apply the
decreasing instructions in the order that minimizes the values.'
makes it clear that increasing and reducing are separate effects.
Note that because Earthwater refers to total power this rule doesn't
make it happen first.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen Doum
United States
Orange County
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just think of it this way: Values are printed on the cards, Power is what you announce.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Dearlove
United Kingdom
Chelmsford
Essex
flag msg tools
SoRCon 11 23-25 Feb 2018 Basildon UK http://www.sorcon.co.uk
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jowjow wrote:
Incidentally, here's the section of the FAQ that applies to this:


My job here is done.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Dearlove
United Kingdom
Chelmsford
Essex
flag msg tools
SoRCon 11 23-25 Feb 2018 Basildon UK http://www.sorcon.co.uk
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MrSkeletor wrote:
Case 2 here seems silly to me. If 'earthwater' was played, the TP should be 7 like the card says. I don't see why it should be staying at 8.


Because Earthwater says total power is increased to 7. As it's already at 8 it can't be increased to 7, so Earthwater has no effect. Reducing to 7 is not increasing.

OK, my job here wasn't done after all.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
litho chong
Taiwan
Hsinchu city
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks everyone. I got it now.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.