With all the different specialists and tools that affect your final tally can those be done in any order and compounded? Can I use Captain to change the color, like blue, to a die, then use Rangefinder to change the result of that blue die and then use Lieutenant to trade that die?
2 - Yes, you do it in any order. Your example would be legal.
Whoa! If this didn't come from the designer himself, I would've never imagined such a ruling. This is great to hear! Though on the surface, being able to use 'Rangefinder' and other cards like it on 'virtual dice' would seem to produce a favorable result greater than the cost?
I say, 'virtual' because using the OP's example, once 'Captain' is used to change the color of a die, then for all intents and purposes that die becomes a "virtual die". Then being able to use 'Rangefinder' to change the result of a 'virtual' blue die seems to be dishonest to what I assumed was the intent of the card's purpose.
But I'm not complaining! I love the clarification.