Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Vegas Showdown» Forums » Rules

Subject: End Game Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eddy Bee
United States
Marin County
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
According to the rules, the game ends immediately if a player fills all of the spaces in his hotel/casino.

My question concerns the timing of this event. Here's the situation:

- Let's assume we have four players: A, B, C and D.
- A has the button and is the starting player.
- All players bid on hotel/casino tiles.
- When player B pays for his tile and places it on his hotel/casino sheet, he fills the last space on his sheet, ending the game.

Here's the question:

After bidding, are the actions that result from the bids (purchase/build, publicity, renovate) performed in player order, or are they assumed to be performed simultaneously?

If they are performed in player order, then after player B builds, the game would end immediately and player C and D would not get to perform the actions they bid on.

If they are performed simultaneously, then everyone would get to perform the action they bid on and the game would end after all actions were completed.


Our game last night was dependent on the answer to this question. If actions are performed in player order, player A wins. If actions are performed simultaneously, player C wins. We settled on the latter interpretation, since it seems more fair and sensible, and because the rules only refer to player order with respect to bidding, and nowhere else.

It would be nice to get an official ruling.

Many thanks...



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Sweet
United States
Geneva
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've played a lot and would agree with your "latter" ruling: all players build at same time.
However, I'm not "official", so hopefully we'll get the answer
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Tolin
United States
Beaumont
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm not official, either, but I can't imagine it being anything other than the latter. That's how we play it.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Kwan
Hong Kong
Hong Kong
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: End Game Question: Pull Strings
My (unofficial) interpretation:

If the game ends because a premier stack is depleted, it ends after the event (on the card which calls for a tile to be drawn from an empty stack) is resolved (if applicable; some events such as "Taxes" and "Visionary" have delayed resolution and not resolved in this case).

If the game ends because someone fills his board, it ends after the game turn is completed.

Exception: in the rare case that the game ends because someone fills his board during the "Slots Surplus" event, the game ends after this event is completed.

My question:

If all 3 premier stacks are empty and the "Pull Strings" event is drawn, does the game end immediately, or is another event card drawn (and possibly take effect) to replace it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Whitehouse
United States
Highlands Ranch
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Alan Kwan wrote:
My (unofficial) interpretation:

Exception: in the rare case that the game ends because someone fills his board during the "Slots Surplus" event, the game ends after this event is completed.



This actually happened in our game tonight. My wife bought a slot on the Slots Surplus card and by placing it her board was complete. We did end the game right there, but it was painful because had I been able to finish the turn, I would have won.

It would be nice to have a clarification on this.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Etherton
Scotland
Edinburgh
Midlothian
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Alan Kwan wrote:

If all 3 premier stacks are empty and the "Pull Strings" event is drawn, does the game end immediately, or is another event card drawn (and possibly take effect) to replace it?


For what it's worth, I think the game definitely ends.

You're ALWAYS supposed to draw a tile for each event card. The only restriction on "Pull Strings" is you can't end the game early by picking an empty stack -- when there are non-empty stacks available. Since "Pull Strings" still requires you to draw a tile from somewhere, and you cannot, the game ends.

-Dave
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.