Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Sword of Rome» Forums » Rules

Subject: Agothacles question... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eric Alvarado
United States
Haverstraw
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here is something that is interesting... when the Agothacles invades Africa (or whatever the title is) comes up... is that movement to Africa if played as an event considered Naval Combat? Also, the only way that the Greeks can get a foothold into Africa is with this card... and if Agothacles is dead and/or they lose the PC marker in Africa... then they can never go back?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wray Ferrell
United States
Cary
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
alvae64 wrote:
Here is something that is interesting... when the Agothacles invades Africa (or whatever the title is) comes up... is that movement to Africa if played as an event considered Naval Combat?


No, that is why the event text says "Place Agathocles..." instead of "Move Agathocles..."


Quote:
Also, the only way that the Greeks can get a foothold into Africa is with this card


Yes, historically they had one chance to invade Africa.


Quote:
and if Agothacles is dead and/or they lose the PC marker in Africa... then they can never go back?


Correct. Once they are kicked out of Africa that is it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Toppen
United States
Gallup
New Mexico
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Preorder Navajo Wars by GMT Games
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
when the Agothacles invades Africa (or whatever the title is) comes up... is that movement to Africa if played as an event considered Naval Combat?


This is an event, not naval movement. Since this is not naval movement, the way I see it is that there is no naval combat here.

Quote:
Also, the only way that the Greeks can get a foothold into Africa is with this card


Correct (9.6.2).

Quote:
and if Agothacles is dead and/or they lose the PC marker in Africa... then they can never go back?


Again, correct. The African ports are only ports for Carthage (9.6.2). If the Greeks sieze Kerkouane, then Kerkouane becomes a Greek port, but if they lose it, then it reverts to a Carthaginian-only port.


Hope this helps

JMT
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.