I have had this sitting around for quite awhile, but finally got around to playing a two player game. During play we had a few disagreements on rule interpretation that I was hoping to get cleared up.
1. Does playing an action card count as an action itself? If not can you only play an action card if you have chosen draw an action card as your action?
My interpretation of the rules was that I could play an action card at anytime and that it did not count as my action nor preclude me from choosing something like mining gems as my action on the turn, but there was some disagreement on this point.
Rules say that you can play any number of cards on your turn which suggests that you don't need a die to play a card.
2. I saw a couple posts on this in the forums, but just wanted to make sure I understood. So in a two player game the person with the lowest donated money amount is not out as long as they have donated more money than the sum of the 4 dice in the final round?
This is how I understand this.
3. Can you sell gems right after mining them (same turn) or does the act of mining them end the persons turn and they have to hold on to them until they choose another die?
I believe you can. The turns ends when you finish playing actions, cards, selling gems and giving money to the queen.