flag msg tools
designer
Love Games, Love 'Em!!!
badge
Check out DiceTower.com!
mbmbmbmbmb
Interviews by an Optimist # 82 - Uli Blennemann

Here’s a short bio Uli provided for me:

Ulrich (Uli) Blennemann, age 40. I live in Duelmen, Germany with my much better half Marion.

I studied History, Eastern European History, and Politics at the Ruhr-University Bochum. I founded Moments in History in 1993 and published about 14 products; 2 winning Charles S. Roberts Awards as best wargames. I sold the company to Critical Hit, Inc. in early 1999. After working for a book and magazine publisher I returned to the game publishing business in 2001 with the newly founded Phalanx Games. Here I´m working as Brand Manager.

Hobbies (besides gaming): soccer, reading, trekking

Tom Vasel: What exactly does brand manager mean at Phalanx Games?

Uli Blennemann: Brand Manager means “all and nothing”. I got this title when Phalanx only consisted of two people - so you were wearing several hats.

Now I try to focus on game development - this is my most important function.

I also do:

finding international partners or staying in touch with existing national and international partners

doing part of the press work

preparing some of the conventions and Phalanx´ coverage

staying in touch with designers and artists

thinking ahead about Phalanx´ future and our future releases

etc., etc.

Tom Vasel: How exactly does game development work? Or rather, how much time does it take from receiving a game from a designer to seeing the final product?

Uli Blennemann: This is tough to answer. Sometimes a game is basically “ready to go” - like Wolfgang Kramer´s & Michael Kiesling´s Maharaja. It took very little time from receiving the prototype till the release of the game (about six months?).

However, sometimes it will take years. The prototype is received, tested, changes are made and recommended to the author, he makes more changes, the game is tested again etc.