GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,416 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
17 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Age of Steam» Forums » Rules

Subject: Turn order action question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jon Pessano
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
All,

Here is the situation :

Player A bids 5 gold
Player B passes
Player C uses their turn order action

What happens to player A now?

Does he have to up his bid to stay in?

Thx
jonpfl
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Miller
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No

As player A is still the high bidder.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mik Svellov
Denmark
Copenhagen N
EU
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules, page 2: Determine Player Order
Quote:
The remaining players must either bid an amount greater than another player or drop out or, if they had chosen the PASS action, say 'pass' once to stay in the bidding.


I have emphasized "another" as that is the key word: you don't have to raise your own bid.

It is further clarified in the example:
Quote:
Vince had bid $3. He must either bid an amount greater than the last amount bid by another player or drop out. Since his last bid is higher than that bid by another player, Vince says "My $3 bid stands".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Montgomery
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Carefull reading says that
a) Player A gets another bid
b) Player A must either bid an amount greader than another player, or drop out.
c) There is no other restriction.

This means that player A may bid more, the same, or even less than their previous bid, so long as it is MORE than another player's bid. In this case player A may bid $1.

Is this correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony Simons
United Kingdom
Royal Wootton Bassett
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sagji wrote:
Carefull reading says that
a) Player A gets another bid
b) Player A must either bid an amount greader than another player, or drop out.
c) There is no other restriction.

This means that player A may bid more, the same, or even less than their previous bid, so long as it is MORE than another player's bid. In this case player A may bid $1.

Is this correct?


No. Player A's original bid remains the same.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chuck Parrott
United States
Wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It means you can stay in the bidding for one bid round without making a bid or increasing the previous bid.

So for example in a 4 player game, you are player C, 3rd in bid order.

A bids $1
B bids $2
C (you) Turn Order Pass
D pass - takes 4th spot

2nd round
A $3
B pass - takes 3rd spot
C (you) either bid $4 against A and keep the bidding going or you could take 2nd spot for free.

Note if you make a bid in a turn prior to using the Turn Order Pass, you are obligated to that bid and have to pay that amount adjusted for your final turn order spot. But you could use this tactic to stay in a high value bidding turn and get a higher spot in turn order cheaper than normal.

Edit: Whoops, should have read the question more closely. Player A's bid of $5 in the OP's example stands and the Turn Order Pass player must now raise it to $6 or higher or pass and take 2nd in turn order.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Montgomery
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
fellonmyhead wrote:
sagji wrote:
Carefull reading says that
a) Player A gets another bid
b) Player A must either bid an amount greader than another player, or drop out.
c) There is no other restriction.

This means that player A may bid more, the same, or even less than their previous bid, so long as it is MORE than another player's bid. In this case player A may bid $1.

Is this correct?


No. Player A's original bid remains the same.

Player A's original bid is irrelevant, what is relevant is player A's second bid. The rules clearly state that Player A must make a second bid, or drop out. They also only give one restriction on a bid - that it must be higher than any other players' bids.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.