"The mystery of life isn't a problem to solve, but a reality to experience"
Here is the current situation: Besancon is besieged and Spain wants to use his home card to travel to Geneva and then extend his impulse with a treasure to march on Besancon.
Here is the card text:
(5) Spanish Road
Add 1 regular in Milan. Move a leader from any space to Madrid if desired. The Spanish player then moves a formation using the rules for Spring deployment. Spaces under independent control (and spaces controlled by inactive HRE in a game with fewer than 6 players) can also be used on this path, however no space entered can contain enemy units. This path may freely cross one pass but it may not cross any sea zones.
The rules for Spring Deployment:
VQ rule book, pg 15 wrote:
6. Move Formation from Capital: All powers with a capital (including activated major powers) may move a single formation from one of their capitals to a friendly-controlled space. This special move costs no CP. The following restrictions apply:
• Only land units and army leaders that start this phase in their capital may use spring deployment. Spain and the Protestant may use spring deployment from either one of their capitals (but not both).
• The power must be able to trace a path of any length from their capital to the destination space. All land spaces on the path must be friendly-controlled and no land space on the path may be in unrest. The path may also cross one sea zone (only) following a path from one friendly-controlled port on that sea zone to another.
• The number of land units in the formation is limited by the command rating of any army leaders present.
• The path may not cross a Pass.
• If any other major power has naval units in ports that border a sea zone, even naval units of an allied power, the path may not cross that sea zone (unless those naval units have been loaned to the deploying power for the turn).
• No more than 5 land units (plus army leaders) may cross a sea zone during spring deployment.
Spain is certainly allowed to travel via neutral spaces by using this card, but does the card allow him to end a spring deployment in a neutral space (which is non-friendly), free on enemy units?
I assumed, perhaps incorrectly, that he can cross through friendly and neutral spaces with this card, but still must end in a friendly space.
(Not that I care either way, I am the HRE in this game and will probably try to fight to the death and hope to either win or tie against all odds. I just want to see if it was worth it to siege Besancon to force Spain to spend a lot of OPs to march at me).