Clarification please, on the Terrain effects chart it states that crossing an objective hexside stops an advance.
However the rules for advance after combat [10.8] only mention that a unit must cease their advance after combat upon entering a Mountain, Forest or Marsh hex. Surely "crossing an objective hexside" should be included here? Or is the Terrain effects chart in error?
Would I really have to stop on entering (for example) Moscow, Stalingrad or the oil fields?
The terrain chart is correct. You have to stop when entering the objective hex.