Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul Szilagyi
United States
Parma
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
O.k. You all see the label, I'm new to BGG. What you DON'T see (which would be cool, but is not the subject of this post) is the number of hours I've logged on the 'Geek, searching for new games to play with my gaming-group and my family.

This search would be made so much easier, more intuitive, and more useful to the average user, by the correction of ONE simple omission.

Date Published. Where do you find it? So far, you only get a listing for 'date published' in parenthesis on the "Games By Name" page, "Games By Category, and -Mechanic" (once selected), and "Games By Recently Added" pages. Or by clicking on the related link, to take you to the actual Game Page for that title (But NOT always, which is a shame)
Of course, this information is absolutely necessary. It allows you to distinguish 1914 (1968) from 1914 (1984), to use the first example I came across on the -By Name page.

Particularly devastating, to those of us wishing to benefit more fully from the combined knowledge of the multitudinous geeks, is the absense of this information from BOTH the "Games By Rank" and "Games By # Of Plays" pages. Especially the former.

It's wonderful to know that Puerto Rico is the #1 game by rank on the site. I'm glad that so many of you love it so, and that peaks my interest... and fortunately, it's a relatively recent game, so my chances of finding a copy are great. However, this is NOT true of many of the games that have edged their way up (or down, I suppose) the rankings over time. There are many games in the top 100, for instance, that I'm not likely to find in my local gamestore. Some of these are even OOP (speaking of which, a small tag of OOP applied to each game/link for which this is true would be overwhelmingly welcomed, but that's not the subject of this post either).