Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Volle Hütte» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules questions... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Geo
Greece
Athens
Marousi
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Two rule questions:

The translation posted here under Setup reads:

Each of the 3 to 5 players now chooses a pub and takes 3 installation-cards and action-cards from the face-down piles.

It seems that a player also draws 3 action-cards.

Further below it reads:

Each player has always two action-cards placed before them. The player whose turn it is must play one of their two action-cards.

My first question is: how many action cards a player has in his hand during the game? 2 or 3? Which is correct?



My second question: A customer-movement card indicates that 4 customers move from one installation to another.

The number of customers moved must be exactly 4 in this case (the exact number indicated on the card) or you may move up to 4 (meaning that you may play this card on an installation with fewer customers)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Pardoe
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
GeoMan wrote:
Each of the 3 to 5 players now chooses a pub and takes 3 installation-cards and action-cards from the face-down piles.


Translation is missing the numeral "2" in front of action-cards. Original German rules state:

....3 Einrichtungskärtchen und 2 Aktionskarten von den verdeckten Stapeln.

Seems pretty clear to me, even with my practically non-existent German skills.

GeoMan wrote:
My second question: A customer-movement card indicates that 4 customers move from one installation to another.

The number of customers moved must be exactly 4 in this case (the exact number indicated on the card) or you may move up to 4 (meaning that you may play this card on an installation with fewer customers)?


Example text uses the card indicated (w/ 4 pawns) to move 3 pawns. So the card is useful for 1, 2, 3, or 4 customers (if it depicts 4 pawns).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Van Biesbrouck
Canada
St Catharines
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GeoMan wrote:

The translation posted here under Setup reads:

Each of the 3 to 5 players now chooses a pub and takes 3 installation-cards and action-cards from the face-down piles.

It seems that a player also draws 3 action-cards.

Further below it reads:

Each player has always two action-cards placed before them. The player whose turn it is must play one of their two action-cards.

My first question is: how many action cards a player has in his hand during the game? 2 or 3? Which is correct?


The German rules state 3 Einrichtungska"rtchen und 2 Aktionskarten, which is consistent with the translation's comments that players will always have two action cards in front of themselves.

GeoMan wrote:

My second question: A customer-movement card indicates that 4 customers move from one installation to another.

The number of customers moved must be exactly 4 in this case (the exact number indicated on the card) or you may move up to 4 (meaning that you may play this card on an installation with fewer customers)?


The rules state Alle Ga"ste (1, 2, 3, oder 4) von einen ... for both coming and going cards. All cards show either two or four guests. The `X > ?' cards show a number of customers equal to the capacity of the `X' tile. The `>>> X' cards all show four customers. I think that it is clear that these cards mean `up to'.

Both of these problems totally stymied my rules explanation the second time that I played the game. The first time I had worked all this out for myself and made a good explanation. We then played two games in a row (taking about an hour in total) with much enjoyment. Unfortunately, I forgot the details by the time I next brought the game to the table and figuring them out mid-explanation was a real problem. (We did manage to play correctly, it just slowed the explanation.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geo
Greece
Athens
Marousi
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.