This space for rent!
Painting all these miniatures is starting to crimp my time...
I have a two questions about exhausted cards:Very clearly answered on page 17, "Exhausted Cards", rulebook:
1. Tullius has a special ability "Discard 3 Slaves to gain 1 Influence". Can he discards exhausted slaves for this? The same question is valid for the rest of the Dominus
Exhausted cards may not be used in any way – they are effectively out of the game until they are refreshed in the following Upkeep. [...] and are not eligible to be discarded for any reason.
2. There is a scheme card, that says something like "Target Dominus has to discard a ready slave". Lets say I target a Dominus who has only one ready Slave - a Bodyguard who can reroll a failed Guard roll. This Dominus uses a Guard to foil my scheme, but fails, then exhaust his Bodyguard to reroll, and fails again. He has no more Guards, so Scheme is succesful, but he has no more Ready Slaves. What now?Interesting scenario. The Scheme was played with a valid target, but the target was exhausted to stop it. Although the counter failed, there is no longer a valid target for the Scheme (foiling it in a different manner). I believe the end result is effectively a discarded Guard, an exhausted Slave, and a Scheme that has somewhat been Foiled.
Add-on: Note that the rules do not ask you to have a valid target to play a Scheme; the Scheme will just have no effect when played. Basically, you can play a Scheme that would have no effect on a Dominus but the play is useless (you can still do it if you want...).