Eric O. LEBIGOT
Future sight reads (Oracle wording):
Play with the top card of your library revealed.
You may play the top card of your library.
Is it possible to play more than one land during a turn thanks to Future Sight?
I understand that it is not possible, based on the following rules, but is my interpretation correct?
Play: 1. To play a land is to put a land onto the battlefield as a special action. See rule 115, "Special Actions," and rule 305, "Lands." 2. To play a card is to play that card as a land or cast that card as a spell, whichever is appropriate. See rule 601, "Casting Spells."I interpret this as meaning that playing a land is a special action. The rule for special actions reads:
(other, obsolete wordings deleted)
115.2a. Playing a land is a special action. To play a land, a player puts that land onto the battlefield from the zone it was in (usually that player's hand). A player can take this action any time he or she has priority and the stack is empty during a main phase of his or her turn, but only if he or she hasn't yet played a land that turn. See rule 305, "Lands."It says explicitly that this action cannot be taken more than once during a turn. So, I understand that Future Sight simply allows the player to take the special action that consist in putting the land onto the battlefield, without allowing this special action to be taken twice. Is this correct?
There is also a rule that says that there can be exceptions to playing a single land per turn, but I don't see how Future Sight would allow the player to circumvent it:
305.2. A player may normally play only one land during his or her turn; however, continuous effects may increase this number. If any such effects exist, the player announces which effect, or this rule, applies to each land play as it happens.
What's your take on this?
I love rule quotes, so don't hesitate!