Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

War of the Ring (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Gandalf the White and Playing Battle Cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mr. Kickerz
Canada
Alberta
flag msg tools
mb
What is the order? Do players choose cards first? Does Gandalf declare if he will use his ability before you play cards?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kwang Il Kim
South Korea
Seoul
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kickerz wrote:
What is the order? Do players choose cards first? Does Gandalf declare if he will use his ability before you play cards?

A battle consists of combats.

FP may choose to use the Gandalf the White's White Rider ability at the start of a Battle.
Each player may choose to play a Combat card during the first step of each Combat Round.

So FP may choose to use the White Rider first. Unless either player retreats into a siege, the first Combat round will start afterwards.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralf Schemmann
Germany
Siegen
NRW
flag msg tools
www.der-ringkrieg.de
badge
www.der-ringkrieg.de
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
skeil wrote:
A battle consists of combats.

I would say "a battle consists of one or more combat rounds".

"Combat" alone is not really a rules term in WotR.

Apart from that, skeil is spot on.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kwang Il Kim
South Korea
Seoul
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I missed the "round"
Thanks for your comment.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Sandston
VA
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's also important to note that the decision whether to use the White Rider ability is made at the beginning of the battle (before anything else happens) and may not be changed later in the battle.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Banon
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
To be clear, this means that with Gandalf's power activated, any combat card that requires nazgul leadership to be sacrificed cannot be used? Or does Gandalf only take away the leadership reroll they would get?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralf Schemmann
Germany
Siegen
NRW
flag msg tools
www.der-ringkrieg.de
badge
www.der-ringkrieg.de
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
He takes away the leadership (not the reroll), so any cards requiring Nazgul leadership CANNOT be played.

The only cards (concerning Nazgul) that still work are those that require only the presence of a Nazgul.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Sandston
VA
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Uthoroc wrote:
He takes away the leadership (not the reroll)
What Ralf is saying here is that the Shadow still gets a Leader Re-roll, but that the Nazgul don't contribute to it. Characters, such as the Mouth of Sauron, still would.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Vago
msg tools
mb
Krieghund wrote:
Uthoroc wrote:
He takes away the leadership (not the reroll)
What Ralf is saying here is that the Shadow still gets a Leader Re-roll, but that the Nazgul don't contribute to it. Characters, such as the Mouth of Sauron, still would.

Just so I'm clear:

Gandalf the White can take away all Nazgul leadership, which means he takes all the leader re-rolls they contributed towards?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristofer Bengtsson
Sweden
Kävlinge
flag msg tools
designer
War of the Ring: Official FAQ Master! Webmaster of www.warofthering.eu Author of the War of the Ring Companion
badge
- This is My Hour!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls