Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Under the Shadow of the Dragon» Forums » Rules

Subject: City of Mages Garbage Dump Tile Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jonathan Franklin
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
There is a green edged tile that says you get City of Mages spell on a die roll of 1 or 2.

Do you go through the City of Mages tile and the person gets the first one turned up? So many of the tiles are not spells that we wondered if the roller gets a choice.

On a roll of 1 with that event tile, does the person get a spell as well as a pick from the City of Mages tiles (since the base condition at the garbage dump is that a roll of 1 gives a magic item)?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Werner Bär
Germany
Karlsruhe
Baden
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No official answer. But i assume the just mixed up 'spell' and magic items.

We play that you roll one die. Without the green tile present, you pick a random magic bezaar marker if you roll a 1. With the green tile, you get a pick if you roll a 1 or a 2.
Same basic procedure, just a better chance to find someting later in the game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Corban
Canada
Newmarket
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Note that the English edition glossary specifies which items are "spells". Basically, all of the 1x use scrolls are spells.

For what it's worth, I play that the garbage dump gives you a spell at random (dig out all the spells from the Cities artifacts and player blindly selects one). This game is designed thematically, so this seems to be the most likely intent.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.