Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Card Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brian Bankler
United States
San Antonio
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
"Keep Summer Safe!"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Early War Cards

Red Scare/Purge (31) -- Does the -1 Ops apply to space race? If an opponent get's OPs from one of their event's I play, is it -1 ("opponent's cards" could go either way on that).

Captured Nazi Scientist (18) -- Does this count as a space race attempt? Or is it in addition? Ditto One Small Step (80)

Destalinization (33) [And others] -- Are influence moved subject to the 2:1 for enemy controlled countries? Are influence generated by events subject to it?

The China Card (6) -- Is this a 5 OP card if it's used as a coup or realignment in Asia? For the realignments, do you have to declare that all will be used beforehand, or can you wait (if realignments 1-4 are in asia, you can then claim a 5th in asia].

Mid War

Junta (47) -- If played as an event, does the free coup count towards military operations?

Grain Sales to Soviets (67) -- If the soviets play this during their turn, can the US choose to return the random discard to gain the operations (during the soviet players turn)?

Late War


Wargames (100) -- Do you have final scoring?

Aldrich Ames [98] -- After ordering the cards, can the US player play a UN intervention to cancel a card it isn't adjacent to? What if the US Intervention comes first? What if the USSR plays a card that requires a discard next, Can that be out of order? What if there's a random discard, do the rest of the cards stay in the same order.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Irving
United States
Salinas
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I can at leastanswer a few of them:


Bankler wrote:
Early War Cards

Captured Nazi Scientist (18) -- Does this count as a space race attempt? Or is it in addition? Ditto One Small Step (80)


Not a Space Race Attempt--as shown in the example of play.

Quote:

Destalinization (33) [And others] -- Are influence moved subject to the 2:1 for enemy controlled countries? Are influence generated by events subject to it?


No. Influence markers added via Operation points into an opponent's controlled country cost 2 Op pts. Influence added (or moved in the case of Destalinization) by events aren't paid for by for via Operation points.

Quote:

The China Card (6) -- Is this a 5 OP card if it's used as a coup or realignment in Asia? For the realignments, do you have to declare that all will be used beforehand, or can you wait (if realignments 1-4 are in asia, you can then claim a 5th in asia].


Yes--the China Card counts for 5 Ops if it used entirely in Asia. You don't have to predeclare realignment attempts--if the first 4 are in Asia, a 5th op can be declared in Asia.

As matter of fact, you place influence markers "one at a time" as well--If you place an influence marker in a country controlled by your opponent by the exact number of influence points need to control the country--the first would cost 2 Op pts. and the second would cost 1 Op. (The first was sufficient to break the opponent's control of the country.)

Quote:


Mid War

Junta (47) -- If played as an event, does the free coup count towards military operations?


No. The rules under coups states free coups under events do not count for Military ops.

Quote:

Late War


Wargames (100) -- Do you have final scoring?


Final scoring occurs only after Turn 10. You didn't complete Turn 10. Therefore, no final scoring.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen Doum
United States
Orange County
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
All these rulings are in the rules, or have already been make by Jason Mathews on CSW, except where noted.

Bankler wrote:
Early War Cards

Red Scare/Purge (31) -- Does the -1 Ops apply to space race? If an opponent get's OPs from one of their event's I play, is it -1 ("opponent's cards" could go either way on that).


The reduction is for any use of Ops, including space race. Ops from events are not effected.

Quote:
Captured Nazi Scientist (18) -- Does this count as a space race attempt? Or is it in addition? Ditto One Small Step (80)


No the limit is for the playing of Ops on the Space Race. The events are seperate.

Quote:
Destalinization (33) [And others] -- Are influence moved subject to the 2:1 for enemy controlled countries? Are influence generated by events subject to it?


Influence placed or moved by events is not subject to the additional cost from enemy control. The event text overrides the rules.

Quote:
The China Card (6) -- Is this a 5 OP card if it's used as a coup or realignment in Asia? For the realignments, do you have to declare that all will be used beforehand, or can you wait (if realignments 1-4 are in asia, you can then claim a 5th in asia].


Additions to the Ops values apply for all purposes, as well. As to having to pre-declare, I doubt it, but the question hasn't been asked before AFAIK.

Upon further reflection, you do not have to declare realignment roles, as you can wait to see the effects of one before diciding the next. Of course, after you had done 4 in Asia with The China Card, you wouldn't be able to do another outside Asia anyway.

Quote:
Mid War

Junta (47) -- If played as an event, does the free coup count towards military operations?


No. Free Coups to not count. See 8.2.5

Quote:
Grain Sales to Soviets (67) -- If the soviets play this during their turn, can the US choose to return the random discard to gain the operations (during the soviet players turn)?


Yes. The event is resolved as if the US player played it.

Quote:
Late War


Wargames (100) -- Do you have final scoring?


No. This is the most frequently asked question.

Quote:
Aldrich Ames [98] -- After ordering the cards, can the US player play a UN intervention to cancel a card it isn't adjacent to? What if the US Intervention comes first? What if the USSR plays a card that requires a discard next, Can that be out of order? What if there's a random discard, do the rest of the cards stay in the same order.


No questions on this card before. IMO, the text on the card played will take precedence over Aldrich Ames during its event. So I would rules yes on canceling or discarding out of order. After a random discard, you should put the remaining cards back in the same sequence, or just use the die to determine which to discard.

One ruling that has been made supports this: A Scoring card cannot be held, and that overrides other text. So if the USSR placed a Scoring card last, and it would be held by following the text on Aldrich Ames (or any other event that forces a card play), then the scoring card is played.

Edited to further clarify some answers.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Heaney
United States
Quincy
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Card Questions -- Red Scare/Purge

When the Red Scare/Purge is in effect on a player, how does that impact their Military Operations? For example, if I play a "3" card for a coup, it is reduced by 1 for the coup attempt. But is that play thus counted as "2" military operations, or does the card number take precedence for that (and thus count as "3"). [I'd say the former.]
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen Doum
United States
Orange County
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
theaney wrote:

When the Red Scare/Purge is in effect on a player, how does that impact their Military Operations? For example, if I play a "3" card for a coup, it is reduced by 1 for the coup attempt. But is that play thus counted as "2" military operations, or does the card number take precedence for that (and thus count as "3"). [I'd say the former.]


And I would agree. There is an open question on discards, but cards played are reduced.

The question is no longer open. Ops values are reduced for all purposes, even discards. Look at Bear Trap or Quagmire.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.