Chris Kice
United States
Shorewood
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm a horrible "game explainer" and am guilty of being one of those discombobulated guys fumbling through the rule book as I try to teach a game to new players.

Since I am always trying to suck my non-gamer friends into my hobby, this puts me at a serious disadvantage and more than once I've turned people off to a game due to my horrible introduction.

Since I'm a much better writer than speaker, I recently decided to create a series of teaching "scripts" that I could use to teach games. This would let me organize my thoughts well in advance and allow me to cover tricky rules the same way for different groups.

I just finished my first one for Tikal and my wife (who graciously volunteered as my initial test subject) picked up the game during the first playing and was playing like a pro by the end.

At this point, I'd like to get some unbiased feedback from the folks here. If it's well received and is seen as a worthwhile project, I'll start working my way through my game collection and post the results in each game's file section.

Tikal Teaching Guide:
http://www.nekurasplayground.com/guides/Tikal_Teaching_Guide...

Thanks!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jesper A
Denmark
Frederikshavn
na
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb