Corvallis
Oregon
flag msg tools
mb

I am brand new at Puerto Rico. In fact I just placed an order
for this game at my friendly local gaming store and look forward to
playing it.

The owner of the store I go to talks about how he played the original
Puerto Rico so many times when it first came out that he "Broke the Game" and can't play again because it has lost any newness since his
group would play the same optimum strategy each time.

My question is whether this expansion breaths new life into this game for Veterans?

Bob

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David
New Zealand
Wellington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't think the game is broken and if someone claims to have 'broken' it it's probably because they play the same way each time, with the same people each time, who don't change their approach either. Any game suffers from this problem if your opponents aren't learning from their mistakes.

There is no optimal strategy unless you know what your opponents will do each turn. Then you might as well play solitaire.

The expansion is not necessary to have, but it's a free download so it's nice to try. My problem with it is the massive effect it has on game balance. Sure, it freshens up the game with brand new buildings, but it also adds a lot of change into the mix. Whether this adds or detracts from your enjoyment is probably something only you can decide.

I tried the expansion and to be honest I don't think I'll bring it out much. The original game, although very familiar, is just too good to spoil with the balance issues.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Fisk
United States
Spanish Fork
Utah
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
For our group it "shook things up"...

I had noticed that each of us took a certain strategy entering into they game. Two people always snatched up the hospice when possible. The first time we used the expansion I just rolled dice to choose the buildings in play and the hospice got taken out.