Corvallis
Oregon
flag msg tools
mb
I am brand new at Puerto Rico. In fact, I just placed an order
for this game at my friendly local gaming store and look forward to
playing it.

The owner of the store I go to talks about how he played the original
Puerto Rico so many times when it first came out that he "Broke the Game" and can't play again because it has lost any newness since his
group would play the same optimum strategy each time.

My question is whether the expansion breaths new life into this game for Veterans? Are there other suggested ways to vary gameplay?

Bob

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Case
England
Epsom
Surrey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
https://www.facebook.com/amuse.ment.92
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Thats a new observation on me. I've played quite a few games now but would not call myself a veteran. In my usual gaming group I can honestly say we have never had two games even vaguely similar as seating position and the random plantation draw always shake things up.

The expansion gives a new dimension but get used to the basic game before adding this in.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jbrier
United States
Aventura
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
the game's not solved. I personally find the game still interesting. the expansion buildings are cool at first but some of them are unbalanced, although there are some so so replacements available for the nearly useless buildings in the original set.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Nielsen
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
After 1500 games, Puerto Rico hasn't gone stale yet. However, the feelings the gentleman you spoke to are not uncommon, especially among those who usually play with the same opponents.