Recommend
6 
 Thumb up
 Hide
36 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: Disruptor (A Study In Static) - Official ruling from Lukas Litzsinger rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Daniel B
Sweden
Kungsbacka
flag msg tools
128
badge
22
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Question:
Deebs wrote:
Disrupter
"[Trash]: Prevent a trace. That trace initiates again with a base strength of 0."

Is the runner allowed to prevent the trace after the corp has committed funds? If so, does the Corp still lose those credits or does he get them back?


Answer:
Lukas wrote:
Disruptor must be used upon the trace being initiated, and prevents the entire trace before re-initiating it. You cannot use the prevent effect once the Corporation has bid.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Kern
msg tools
officially unplayable ever!
25 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Limitless333 wrote:
officially unplayable ever!


??
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wesley Austin Kinslow
United States
Tennessee
flag msg tools
↳ Do one brain damage ↳ Do one brain damage ↳ End the run
badge
"OBVIOUSLY."
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Such a coaster.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven
United States
Spokane
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
"The mystery of life isn't a problem to solve, but a reality to experience"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't see this as totally useless... you can still make a Trace 3 or 4, into a Trace 0.

Wouldn't this be half-decent if you have a deck with a low link?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt - Conduit23
United States
Sacramento
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
byronczimmer wrote:
Limitless333 wrote:
officially unplayable ever!


??


I thought he was pretty clear.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anon Y. Mous
msg tools
mbmb
Someone on the cardgamedb.com forums mentioned a trace-8 (Orochi?) coming in the near future. So maybe it's a preemptive counter to that, in case it gets out of hand.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
LC
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Well, that's, like, your opinion, man
Avatar
mbmbmb
It's not that useless. The point is it reduces the base trace value to 0.

So, if you had a Trace(3), that now becomes a Trace(0).

Doesn't seem so worthless to me.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evan
United States
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lawcomic wrote:
It's not that useless. The point is it reduces the base trace value to 0.

So, if you had a Trace(3), that now becomes a Trace(0).

Doesn't seem so worthless to me.


Right? It's like an Easy Mark that costs 1 and uses an MU. And only works on traces. Before the corp bids.
22 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric F
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
badge
RTFM!
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Well, at least Anarchs get a crappy in-faction way to deal with Weyland SE that isn't Plascrete.

SEA Source at (0). Requires you to still have money, but...ehhhh...

Decoy is strictly better, more influence. (Not counting blowing it up with the 2 creds/Freelancer because...yeah...logic)
Plascrete is a dead card against a lot of other decks. Loses to Power Grid Overload.
Disruptor is more versatile, but still pretty bad, and isn't vulnerable to PGO...?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evan
United States
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually, I was just thinking that while Disruptor is not really worth the clicks against SEA Source on its own, one thing it's genuinely good at is protecting your hardware (read: Plascrete) against PGO. Though it's obviously only worth all that deckspace in an extremely SE-heavy meta (edit: if then).

Here are the other two break-even-or better uses I could think of:
1) Against Ash. Turning a 4-trace into a 0 is not a terrible investment, and Anarchs' penchant for smashing things means you can probably take the agenda and trash Ash on your way out.
2) Get a sharpie and write "Corporate Troubleshooter" on the front. You'll need opaque sleeves for this one.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
TK Number 3
Canada
Edmonton
AB
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I'm guessing we see a new card in this cycle with a 5 or higher trace that is not an auto include, but disruptor exists to keep it in check.

Remember, people said Vamp was useless when it first came out, now I often get annoyed when I'm hit with it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lluluien
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
kobold47 wrote:
2) Get a sharpie and write "Corporate Troubleshooter" on the front. You'll need opaque sleeves for this one.


This is hilarious but true
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Mills
United States
Iowa City
Iowa
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mdanuser wrote:
byronczimmer wrote:
Limitless333 wrote:
officially unplayable ever!


??


I thought he was pretty clear.


adverb - adjective - adverb - punctuation isn't generally clear.

/pedant
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt - Conduit23
United States
Sacramento
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
manydills wrote:
mdanuser wrote:
byronczimmer wrote:
Limitless333 wrote:
officially unplayable ever!


??


I thought he was pretty clear.


adverb - adjective - adverb - punctuation isn't generally clear.

/pedant


I was kidding.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evan
United States
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
manydills wrote:
mdanuser wrote:
byronczimmer wrote:
Limitless333 wrote:
officially unplayable ever!


??


I thought he was pretty clear.


adverb - adjective - adverb - punctuation isn't generally clear.

/pedant


totally untrue though.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michele Lupo
Italy
Lecce
Puglia
flag msg tools
mb
Ethereality wrote:
Someone on the cardgamedb.com forums mentioned a trace-8 (Orochi?) coming in the near future. So maybe it's a preemptive counter to that, in case it gets out of hand.


Do you happen to have a link on that?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh C
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mb
SW_Cygnus wrote:
I don't see this as totally useless... you can still make a Trace 3 or 4, into a Trace 0.

Wouldn't this be half-decent if you have a deck with a low link?


Or even if you have a deck with high link as a way around Net Shield when you really need it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott C
United States
Troy
OH
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
capbarclay wrote:
SW_Cygnus wrote:
I don't see this as totally useless... you can still make a Trace 3 or 4, into a Trace 0.

Wouldn't this be half-decent if you have a deck with a low link?


Or even if you have a deck with high link as a way around Net Shield when you really need it.

How is this a way around Net Shield? I can't think of any trace for net damage cards...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michele Lupo
Italy
Lecce
Puglia
flag msg tools
mb
Think he meant Net Police.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott C
United States
Troy
OH
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Wolf88 wrote:
Think he meant Net Police.

That makes way more sense.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Imboden
United States
Evanston
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kobold47 wrote:
Lawcomic wrote:
It's not that useless. The point is it reduces the base trace value to 0.

So, if you had a Trace(3), that now becomes a Trace(0).

Doesn't seem so worthless to me.


Right? It's like an Easy Mark that costs 1 and uses an MU. And only works on traces. Before the corp bids.


And neutralizes Ash.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregory Pettigrew
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Opie wrote:
kobold47 wrote:
Right? It's like an Easy Mark that costs 1 and uses an MU. And only works on traces. Before the corp bids.


And neutralizes Ash.


Only if it causes the Trace to fail.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Rockwell
United States
Lynnwood
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Would only be playable if it was a virus.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Gaudet
Canada
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Lukas wrote:
You cannot use the prevent effect once the Corporation has bid.


Wow, This goes completely against the existing rules:

Rulebook, Pg. 21 wrote:
"Prevent or avoid effects can be triggered whenever the effect they are preventing or avoiding is resolving."


Hopefully will be reversed/not make it to FAQ.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2  Next »   | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.