Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Java» Forums » Rules

Subject: Zero AP movement question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Charles Hasegawa
United States
Chandler
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The question I have, is when is a player's turn over? In a game of Java I played recently, a player camped a developer next to a pond on the board (so that if another player enclosed it, he would keep them from scoring any points). Is it permissible, after the player expends his 6 AP to re-arrange his/her developers within the zero AP movement rules?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Elliott Reynolds
Canada
Victoria
B.C.
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are allowed to move your developers any time during your turn without spending any action points. So, yes, that player could move his developer to gaurd the water tiles at the end of his turn. (One cannot, though, move developers when it is not one's turn.)

I don't think it explictly says anything in the rules about when another player's turn starts. But, we've always played that if the next player has began to make a move, then tough luck.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P B
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Even after 6 AP are used, it is permissible to move any developers on the board within 0 AP areas (i.e., moving a developer within a city/village area or terrace area.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Fried
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
along these lines, we had a question as to whether you could build a palace, then move the developer to get the irrigation, then send him back somewhere else... all for 0 points...

yes?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shaun Mather
United States
Yuma
Arizona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's the way we play it. Our developer would move to a city, build a palace and score, then move to an irrigation area and score for closing it then move further down the fields to set up at another irrigation spot. If all moves are free within the terrain type then let them run loose!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Frost

Iowa
msg tools
mbmbmb
When it comes to a player's turn, there are two keys:

1. At some point during their turn they must place a land tile on the board. See p. 5. (Except once final scoring has kicked in after the last 3-place land tile has been placed, and the remaining players are taking their final turn, p. 10.)

2. Festivals. First, "When a player arranges a festival, it is always the last action of his turn." (p. 4) And, "At the end of a player's turn, he may arrange a palace festival in one city of his choice." (p. 8)

So once a player commences to arrange a festival, he can no longer move any developers. And if the player has used his APs and says he isn't arranging a festival, it is now the next player's turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Markus Pfefferle
Germany
flag msg tools
mb
However, since a developer's position within a city that holds a festival is of no consequence to the festival, it doesn't really make a difference if the player takes their free movement actions before or after a festival. Thus it's permissible to allow a player to still reposition their developers after a festival before they officially announce their turn as completed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.