Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: asljr_rsp [+] [View All]
Jesse Smit
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
mb
Hi, im quite new to ASL having read only the starter kit 1&2 rules and playing the very first starter kit 1 scenario five times.
I feel i have a pretty good understanding of the basic rules now but im very very confused about how SMC work in close combat. In fact im so confused about it and can barely even begin to formulate a question about what i dont understand! Would some kind soul be able to explain it to me as though i were a small child or even better provide an example detailing the options available and their effects of a combat involving one or more SMC on each side?

Thanks,

Jesse.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dale Martin
United States
Fernandina Beach
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Don't have my ASLSK#1 rules handy (loaned to another budding player), but I can at least cite the ASLRB. An SMC in CC has an inherent firepower of 1. This firepower can be added to any MMC firepower in the same location for CC or can be used by the SMC to attack (and subsequently defend) alone. For example, an German 548 and an 8-1 leader are in the same CC location as a Russian 447. The options for the German are to attack with the squad and the SMC (ratio: 6-4) or two separate attacks (5-4 and 1-4). If the German attacks with the second option, the Russian squad may attack the leader alone (4:1). If the Germans attack together, the best the Russian can do is 4:6. Additional SMCs simply expand the combinations, but offer nothing further. SMCs may combine with each other, each contributing 1 firepower toward the CC ratio (only one SMC may add the leadership DRM, though).

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jesse Smit
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
mb
Thanks Dale,