Recommend
30 
 Thumb up
 Hide
29 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

Bruges» Forums » Rules

Subject: Translation of rules to English: Complete! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mathue Faulkner
United States
Austin
TX
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I used Google Translate to (very) slowly translate the German rules into English. I skipped the setup and components section (as both of those sections rely on the photos), and I started on Page 4.

Update: I now have an English copy of the game, and I've cleared up some confusing parts of the translation.

German Rules: http://www.schmidtspiele.de/produkt-detail/product/bruegge-4...

Also, this video is a great walkthrough of the rules, and when I was smoothing over certain sections of the Google Translate, I used the video for clarification:
http://boardgamegeek.com/video/27279/brugge/brugge-walkthrou...

Selected Notes on Game Setup

- Statue Tokens are placed sequentially with 7 on the top and 2 on the bottom.

- Players start with 3 Majority markers (color side down), 1 worker of each color (5 total), and 5 Guilders.

- Players place their small colored seal at one of the Guard Houses designated on the board. The player can build canals in either of the two Canal Sections adjacent to their colored seal. Each Canal Section is composed of 5 Canal Spaces.

- The 165 cards are shuffled, and divided roughly into 5 stacks (i.e. approximately 33 cards each). Take one stack per participating player, and shuffle these stacks together (i.e. 3 stacks in a 3 player game for approximately 99 cards). Separate this new stack into 2 separate stacks to form 2 separate draw piles (approximately 44-45 cards each in a 3 player game). The remaining cards are now piled up as the extra draw pile. This extra draw pile is only required at the end of the game.

Quote:
Page 4:

Gameplay
The game runs over several rounds.
Each round consists of the following 4 phases:

Phase 1: Draw Cards - Used During Phase 3
Phase 2: Roll the Dice - Distribute Threat Markers and Advance 1 Reputation Step
Phase 3: Play Cards and Perform Actions - This is the main part of each round.
Phase 4: Verify each of the 3 Majorities and Change Start Player
____________

Phase 1: Draw cards - Used During Phase 3

At the beginning of each round, the players draw cards to refill their hand.

The start player begins and may draw from either of the two piles. The Player takes the card without looking at the front. She repeats this until she holds 5 cards in hand. With each new card she must decide which of the two decks she will draw from (only the different colored card backs are visible). Once the player has replenished her hand, she may of course look at her cards.

Play proceeds clockwise as the remaining players fill their hand to 5 cards in the same way.

When one of the draw piles run out...

This will be the final round.

When one of the two draw piles runs out of cards, that pile is immediately replaced with the extra draw pile set aside at the beginning of the game. The players continue refilling their hand, as described above.

If the other pile runs out, split the remaining pile in half creating 2 roughly equal piles. Keep doing this so that the players always have 2 piles to draw from.

The round in which the extra draw pile enters play is the final round.. After completing that round, the game ends and players proceed with final scoring.

Exception: Usually, a pile will run out during Phase 1 of a turn (when you draw cards). However, some cards allow you to draw cards during Phase 3. In those cases, the extra draw pile enters play immediately, and the following round will be the last and final round.

Phase 2: Roll the Dice - Distribute Threat Markers and Advance 1 Reputation Step

The start player rolls with the 5 colored dice. He then places the dice on the board in the designated dice area. Ideally, place the dice in ascending order to let players easily see which values are present.

After rolling, the following two steps are performed in the order listed.

Quote:
Page 5:

First Step: Distribute Threat Markers

For each die that shows a 5 or a 6, each player (without exception) receives 1 Threat Marker of those colors (the color of the dice showing a 5 or a 6).

All threat markers should be arranged by color in front of each player, and should be visible to all other players.

Whenever a player acquires the third threat marker of a particular color, that player suffers the corresponding penalty. The various penalties are described on the last page of this rulebook.

Second Step: Advance 1 Reputation Step

Each player now has the opportunity of advancing 1 step on the reputation track. The price to advance is determined by the dice. The price to pay, in guilders, is equal to the total sum of every die showing a 1 or a 2.

The start player goes first. If she wishes to advance, then she must pay the cost in guilders to the bank, and she advances her marker one step on the reputation track. A player may not advance without paying.

Note: The first time a player advances, he moves his marker from the town hall onto the first step of the reputation track.

In clockwise order, all other players decided whether they want to advance on the reputation track.

If a player does not have enough guilders to pay the cost to advance then he can not advance. If a player does not want to advance, despite having enough guilders in order to pay the cost, then he pays nothing and does not advance.

Each player can only advance 1 step each round.

If none of the dice in this round show a 1 or 2, then players may not advance this round.

Note that dice values of 3 and 4 have no meaning in this phase.

Phase 3: Play Cards and Perform Actions - This is the main part of each round.

General rules for this phase:
  - Players start this phase with 5 cards in hand.
  - The players take turns playing 1 card from their hand, and select from 1 of the 6 possible actions.
  - This goes on in turns, until each player has played 4 cards from his hand, and executed the 4 corresponding actions. (These may be different actions, the same actions several times, or even the same actions as the other players.)
  - Then this phase ends.

Quote:
Page 6:

The start player begins by playing one card from her hand.
With the played card she may take exactly one of the following six actions:
    I. Take 2 workers
    II. Take 1-6 guilders
    III. Discard 1 threat marker
    IV. Build 1 canal token
    V. Build 1 house
    VI. Recruit 1 person

After the start player played 1 card and has executed the corresponding action, the remaining players follow in clockwise order and play 1 card and take the corresponding action. This goes on in turns, until each player has played 4 cards from his hand, and taken the corresponding 4 actions.

This phase then ends. Usually, each player should have 1 card remaining in her hand.

Note: Any of the 6 actions may be performed with any card. As such, there are no cards that allow you to perform a specific action.
____________

Before we explain the various actions, here is a closer look at a card:

Anatomy of a Card:

Card Color
There are 5 different card colors (blue, brown, yellow, red and purple). Each card has the same color on the front and back.

Actions
The first 5 actions are depicted on the banner found on the right hand side of each card. With the exception of the color, these 5 actions are always the same.

Person
The person section of each card shows a different character. Each person has a different price, special effect, and group. You will find more information on the person section on page 8.

____________

Now to the description of each action:
I. Take 2 workers
The player places one card face up on the discard pile and takes 2 workers in the color of the played card. He puts his workers in his display (in plain sight).

The workers are not limited by the components. Should you run out a worker color, the players may make do with other materials.

II. Take 1-6 guilders
The player places one card face up on the discard pile to take a number of guilders from the bank equal to the value shown on the die of the color of the played card. The player then places her guilders in her play area.

The guilders are not limited by the components. Players can make change at any time.

Quote:
Page 7:

III. Discard 1 threat marker and get 1 point
The player places one card face up on the discard pile and discards 1 threat marker in the color of the played card from his display back into the supply. Each threat marker discarded this way gets the player 1 point; advance your pawn 1 space on the scoring track to show this.

Note: Every time a player discards 1 threat marker, she gets 1 point. This also applies when discarding threat markers with the help of a person (see the Jailer, page 1 of the rules supplement).

IV. Build 1 canal token
Each player has a small seal in his color that is placed on his gatehouse. Canal sections extend to the left and right from the seal, and each section consists of five individual canal spaces. These 10 canal spaces (= 2 channel sections) are available to the player (and only that player) to build canal tokens.

A player's first built canal will always be one of the 2 spaces next to her seal. On subsequent canal building actions, the player may continue in the direction she started, or not. The player always has 2 canal spaces to choose in order to build a canal token, unless a section is complete.

In order to build a canal token, the player discards 1 card in the color of the canal space she wishes to build on. Additionally, she must pay the number of guilders specified on that canal space. She then places a canal token on that space.

If the player has built a canal token in the 3rd space from his seal (in either direction), then he will take 3 points at game end. If a player has built up one of his two canal sections completely, he immediately takes the top Statue tile from the board which will be worth the printed points at game end. Each player may earn a maximum of 2 statues.

V. Build 1 house
The player places 1 card face down in front of herself to show that you have built a house. To build a house, he must pay one worker in the same color as the house he wishes to build. Return the paid worker to the supply.
Each house scores its owner 1 point at the game end, and can also accommodate one person (see next action).

VI. Recruit 1 person
Play 1 card onto one of your empty houses; place the card in such a way that the color of the house remains visible. Your must pay the price of the card, shown in the top left corner. Paid guilders are returned to the bank.

Each house can accommodate exactly 1 person.
The person may be of a different color than the house.

Quote:
Page 8:

The player can activate his designed people to make use of various advantages.
Before we explain how a Person card is activated, let's take a closer look at the person section of a card.
______________

Explanation of the Person Cards
Price: At the top left of the card is the price to recruit this person, expressed in guilders.

Points: The small number directly below the price indicates how many points the player will receive when the game ends if the person is still in his display. (The score is always a third of the price.)

Activation Icon: The icon located under the portrait to the left shows when and how this person can be activated. The various symbols and their meanings are explained on the next page.

Name and Benefit: The text below the activation symbol is the name of the person, and the benefit you get when activating the person.

Group: There are 11 different groups of people by which a card may be associated. Some cards and the associated benefits refer to the group. When that is the case, only those cards belonging to that group are considered. (The 11 different groups of people: Noble, Entertainer, Craftsman, Church, Protector, Scholar, Bureaucrat, Merchant, Castle, Artist, Underworld)
______________

Activate People
On his turn, the player may activate one or more of their placed person cards.
- People with the "arrow" icon are activated immediately after being played.
- People with any of the five "worker" icons or the "infinity loop" icon may each be activated during the player's turn.
- Finally, people with the "laurel" icon are only activated during the final scoring.
- To activate a person means to execute the text on the person card.
______________

The 4 symbols are as follows:
Arrow: People with the "arrow" icon have a one-use effect that is activated immediately after being played. These people may not be activated again during the game, unless they are returned to a player's hand and played again.

Worker: People with a "worker" icon can only be activated once per round during a player's turn (in phase 3 "Play cards"). You must pay a worker of the depicted color (which is not necessarily the color of the person). That worker is returned to the supply. You then benefit from the text shown on the card.

To indicate that the person has been activated in this round, the player rotates it 90 degrees.


Quote:
Page 9:

Infinity Loop: There are 3 types of people with the "infinity loop" icon.

The first type can be activated once per round (similar to people with a worker symbol). The text on these cards typically begins with "Once per round...".
The activation of these people does not cost anything.
To indicate that the person has been activated in this round, the player rotates it 90 degrees.

The second type improves an action for that player. People of this type are automatically activated for free every time the player performs the corresponding action (even more than once per round). They do not cost anything extra to use.

The third type is similar to the second. These people give players advantages in different game situations (i.e. when "drawing cards" or "Advancing").
People of this type are automatically activated for free each time any time the situation occurs during the game. (If the situation can occur several times per round, the card is activated more than once per round.)

Note: Persons of the second and third type are not rotated by 90 degrees after they are activated since their use is not limited.

Laurel: People with "laurel" icon are used during the final scoring. It is at that moment, and only then, that they are automatically activated. The player receives the number of points indicated on the card.

______________

General Note:
* The player can activate people (with the symbols "worker" or "infinity loop" icons) before or after playing a card on his turn. He can activate some before and others after playing his card. I.e. He can even activate the person just placed (with the "worker" or "infinity") on the same turn.
* Activating a person can alter the normal rules.
______________

Example of activating a person that alters the normal rules:
The player activates the Coachman by returning a yellow worker to the supply.

The Coachman allows the player to immediately play one extra card from of his hand, and hence another action in the same turn (against the normal rules).

Thus the player will have one less card for the rest of the round. As such, he will end this round without cards in hand (instead of, as usual, with one remaining card hand) . At the beginning of the next round, he fills his hand to 5 cards again as usual.

______________

Note: Most people are self-explanatory. We've explained some cards in the addendum since questions may arise in some special cases or in certain combinations of cards.

Quote:
Page 10:

Phase 4: Verify the 3 majorities and change the start player
Check whether one or more players have the majority in any of the specified areas. Players with a majority in one of the areas will flip the associated majority marker to the colored side. Players check for majorities in the following 3 areas.

Reputation
If a single player is further along than all other players on the reputation track, then the player may turn his reputation track majority marker to the colored side.

People
If a player has more people than any one of his opponents in his play area, then he turns his people majority marker to the colored side. He compares the number of people with every other player individually. Therefore, a player need not have more people than every other player combined, simply more people than each other player.

Canal
If a player has built more canal tokens than any of his opponents (combining both of his two canal sections), then he may turn his majority canal marker to the colored side.

These rules apply to all 3 majorities:
* A player must have a clear majority in order to turning his marker to the colored side.
* Once flipped, a marker will stay on its colored-side for the remainder of the game. Therefore a marker flipped to the colored side indicates that the player held the majority in that are at least once during the game.
* If a player surpasses another player in a later round, then the player that now currently has the majority also turns his majority marker to the colored side. Thus, it is possible that several players will have turned the same majority marker flipped to the colored side.

Start Player Changes
After the 3 majorities have been checked, the start player rotates to the next player clockwise, and a new round begins. Players also straighten the cards they rotated (if any) to indicate that they may be activated again next round.

End Game and Final Scoring
At the end of the round in which one of the decks was emptied, the game ends and final scoring occurs. (Exception: See note on page 4)

Each player scores the following:
People
The player takes the points from all his displayed people (top left).

Quote:
Page 11:

House
For every house in his display the player takes 1 point. It does not matter whether a person is on the house or not.

Benefits (from people)
For people with the "laurel" icon, the player takes points according to the cards text.

Majority Marker
For each majority marker that the player has turned to the colored side, he takes 4 points.

Canal
For each canal tile built in the 3rd space from the player's seal, the player takes 3 points. For each collected Statue tile, he takes the printed points.

Reputation
The player takes points for the space which she has most recently advanced to on the reputation track.

The player keeps track of her points on the scoring track.
If a player reaches over 50 points, he takes one of the 50/100 point tiles (with the 50 side up) and starts back at the beginning of the scoring track. If he reaches more than 100 points, he flips the small tile to the 100 side.
The player with the most points wins the game. In the case of a tie, the player who has more guilders wins. If there is still a tie, then there is more than one winner.

Example of a final scoring: The player has the following display:
Scoring example photo omitted
* For people, he takes 3 + 1 + 2 + 0 + 2 = 8 points.
* One point for the 6 displayed houses = 6 points
* The Mayor is a person with a "laurel" icon. The player takes 2 points per displayed card that belongs to the Bureaucrat group. These are the Mayor himself and the Councilman. The player takes 2 x 2 points = 4 points.
* The player has receives 4 points for the two majority markers, Reputation and People, which were flipped to the colored side = 8 points.
* He has one 3-space canal built = 3 points.
* Her pawn is on the 6th step of the reputation track = 7 points.

The player's final score is 36 points.

Quote:
Page 12:

Threat Events - What happens when a circle is complete...

Whenever a player receives a third threat marker of a single color in his display (and thus completes the circle), then that player must suffer the damage effect (penalty).

The penalty depends on the color of the threat markers.
_________________

Flood:
You must return all of your workers to the supply.

Plague:
You must discard one person of your choice from your play area (not your hand).

Raid:
You must return all of your guilders to the bank.

Fire:
Either: Discard one of your built houses OR discard one of your built canal tokens. If you have neither, you do not lose anything.
Note: If the house that the player discards has a person on it, then the player takes the person back into her hand.
Note: If the player removes the canal token that completes a 5-token canal section, then the player does not have to return the statue tile. If the player builds the canal token again, however, he does not take a new statue tile.
Note: Gaps are not allowed in the canal sections.

Intrigue:
You lose 3 points. Players can not have less than 0 points.

_________________

After resolving the damage, the player returns all 3 Threat markers of that color to the supply. The next marker in that color that she receives will again be the "first".

Important: Players do not score any points when returning Threat markers after suffering the damage.

Note: It is possible that a player suffers a number of different penalties during the same turn. In this case, the player decides the order in which the penalties are applied.

Note: If there are not enough Threat markers in the supply, distribute the markers in player order and immediately apply any triggered penalties, thus refreshing the supply and allowing every player to get a marker.

_________________

Example: There was a dice roll of 5 in red and 6 in yellow. The player already 2 threat markers of those colors in front of him. This means that the third marker causes some damage.

For the fire (red), he must discard one of his built houses or canal tokens. Since he has not built any canal tiles, he must discard 1 house.

For the raid (yellow), he loses all his guilders. So all of the guilders in front of him are returned to the bank.

Finally, he returns all of his yellow and red Threat markers to the supply. He should be safe from these threats for a while...


/translation

(I may translate the appendix/addendum as well, but I need a break)

Edit: I picked up an English copy of the game last week, and used the official rules to clear up some confusing parts of this translation.
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mathue Faulkner
United States
Austin
TX
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Slow Translation of English Rules
Reserved
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Thunkd
United States
Northampton
MA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Slow Translation of Rules into English
Reserved.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mathue Faulkner
United States
Austin
TX
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Slow Translation of Rules into English
Thunkd wrote:
Reserved.



I just wasn't sure if there was an eventual limit on the length of posts.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Domick
Germany
Duesseldorf
NRW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Slow Translation of Rules into English
mfaulk80 wrote:

Activate People
The player who is on the train (no idea what that means...player who's turn it is maybe), may check one or more of his people.

It's just a little problem with the word "Zug" that isn't translated within the right context. The german word "Zug" can be translated as "train" or, and this is what is meant in this section, it can mean that it's your turn in a game (German: "Du bist am Zug", english: "It's your turn").

Original sentence:
Der Spieler, der am Zug ist, darf eine oder mehrere seiner Personen aktivieren
Translation:
The player, whose turn it is, may activate one or more of their person cards.

mfaulk80 wrote:

- For people with the "flash", the player must activate immediately after the disengagement.
- For people with a "worker" or the "infinity loop", players can activate during his turn.
- For people with "laurel wreath", players can only activate in the final standings.
- Enable a person heibt, auszufuhren the text on the people part of the card. (not sure on this one either)

Here, Google Translate seems to have messed up the character encoding. The original german sentence reads:
Eine Person aktivieren heißt, den Text auf der Personenkarte ausführen.
This could be translated to:
To enable a person means to execute the text on the person card.

mfaulk80 wrote:

Worker: Persons with a "worker" of the player can once per round in the train (ie in Phase 4 "Playing Cards") are activated (again not sure on the train reference). The player places a worker in the specified color (this is not necessarily the suit) back into the reservoir and then leads from the card text.


The original section reads:
Personen mit einem „Handlanger“ können vom Spieler einmal pro Runde in dessen Zug (also in Phase 3 „Karten ausspielen“) aktiviert werden.
Der Spieler legt einen Handlanger in der angegebenen Farbe (dies ist nicht unbedingt die Kartenfarbe) zurück in den Vorrat und führt dann den Kartentext aus. Um anzuzeigen, dass die Person in dieser Runde aktiviert wurde, dreht der Spieler sie um 90°.


Possible translation:
Person cards with a worker symbol on it can only be activated once per round when it is a player's turn (in phase 3 "Play cards"). To activate a person card with a worker, the player whose turn it is puts a worker whose color matches the color of the worker symbol (can be different from the color of the card) back into the reserve and executes the card text. To show that a person card has been activated, it is rotated by 90 degrees.
7 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom
United States
Plainfield
ILLINOIS
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Slow Translation of Rules into English
Now if we can only convince our German BGG brethren to make a list of paste ups for the cards the game would be mine!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dirk Vahlenkamp
Germany
Huerth
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Slow Translation of Rules into English
Hi folks.

As far as I can see, Matt's translator did good work, everything seems correct. Only the german term "Handlanger" would be named "henchman" in correct translation.

I check with my friend, whom we gave the game as a birthday present, if I can get the cards from him for the week-end. I see him on Saturday for a 18xx.

I let you know.

Dirk
2 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Thunkd
United States
Northampton
MA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Slow Translation of Rules into English
Reserved.. This space available.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mathue Faulkner
United States
Austin
TX
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Slow Translation of Rules into English
IgrajemChef wrote:
Hi folks.

As far as I can see, Matt's translator did good work, everything seems correct. Only the german term "Handlanger" would be named "henchman" in correct translation.

I check with my friend, whom we gave the game as a birthday present, if I can get the cards from him for the week-end. I see him on Saturday for a 18xx.

I let you know.

Dirk

I actually changed the term from Henchmen to Workers because it seemed more natural, and that's what MiWi used in his video.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Huzonfirst
United States
Manassas
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Best hobby, with the best people in the world. Gaming is the best!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks so much for doing this, Matt. Feld and Hans im Gluck sounds like a great combination and after reading your rules translation, I'm very anxious to check out Brügge. With the amount of text on the cards, it looks like I'll have to wait for the Z-Man version to appear. So hurry up with that English edition, Z-Man; you're on the clock! meeple
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Leitner
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
IgrajemChef wrote:
Hi folks.

As far as I can see, Matt's translator did good work, everything seems correct. Only the german term "Handlanger" would be named "henchman" in correct translation.

I check with my friend, whom we gave the game as a birthday present, if I can get the cards from him for the week-end. I see him on Saturday for a 18xx.

I let you know.

Dirk


I think "Handlanger" is better translated as "Handyman". "Henchman" usually refers to something a bit more nefarious

I am curious if people who have played this game think it might be practical to create a player aid with translations for the cards, or if there are so many different ones as to make this impractical.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mathue Faulkner
United States
Austin
TX
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MDJD wrote:
IgrajemChef wrote:
Hi folks.

As far as I can see, Matt's translator did good work, everything seems correct. Only the german term "Handlanger" would be named "henchman" in correct translation.

I check with my friend, whom we gave the game as a birthday present, if I can get the cards from him for the week-end. I see him on Saturday for a 18xx.

I let you know.

Dirk


I think "Handlanger" is better translated as "Handyman". "Henchman" usually refers to something a bit more nefarious

I am curious if people who have played this game think it might be practical to create a player aid with translations for the cards, or if there are so many different ones as to make this impractical.

I believe all 165 cards are unique...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Leitner
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh well. I won't be doing that, then. Thanks for the reply.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dirk Vahlenkamp
Germany
Huerth
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm not yet done with translating all cards from German to English. But I can tell, that there are only a few cards, that have a unique ability.
For example, for each of the 11 "families" of persons, there is one card, that gives you 1 point for all of them in your display using a worker, there is one card that gives 2 points for all in your display at game end, and one card that gives 2 points for all in your display once it comes into play.
So there you already have 33 of the cards explained. So, if you know, the 11 families in German, then you already know 1/5 of the cards deck. But as the families are all marked with a symbol on the cards, that is even not necessary.
I suppose I'm done with the translation of all the cards tomorrow, then I will upload a list with: German Name / English Name / Ability
7 
 Thumb up
1.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fausto Berutti
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
IgrajemChef wrote:
I'm not yet done with translating all cards from German to English. But I can tell, that there are only a few cards, that have a unique ability.
For example, for each of the 11 "families" of persons, there is one card, that gives you 1 point for all of them in your display using a worker, there is one card that gives 2 points for all in your display at game end, and one card that gives 2 points for all in your display once it comes into play.
So there you already have 33 of the cards explained. So, if you know, the 11 families in German, then you already know 1/5 of the cards deck. But as the families are all marked with a symbol on the cards, that is even not necessary.
I suppose I'm done with the translation of all the cards tomorrow, then I will upload a list with: German Name / English Name / Ability


I can barely wait for your card translation.

Fausto
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dirk Vahlenkamp
Germany
Huerth
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I uploaded the file.
Just waiting for the admins...
It's nothing great, just an excel-sheet with
german name / english translation / ability
You will see, that it is fairly easy to understand 90% of the cards with a few german words and the icons on the cards.

Have fun with it.

Dirk
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fausto Berutti
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks in advance Dirk,

your job is very appreciated.

Best

Fausto
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Markus Weihrauch
Germany
Frankfurt
Hessen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks! Excellent job!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mathue Faulkner
United States
Austin
TX
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
IgrajemChef wrote:
I uploaded the file.
Just waiting for the admins...
It's nothing great, just an excel-sheet with
german name / english translation / ability
You will see, that it is fairly easy to understand 90% of the cards with a few german words and the icons on the cards.

Have fun with it.

Dirk

Available now:
http://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/89863/brugge-english-trans...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Markus Weihrauch
Germany
Frankfurt
Hessen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I found two little error or misleading item in your translation.

If one of the draw piles run out:
The German rules state that game ends after the round where ONE of the redraw piles run out (in phase 1!). Then the pile that is empty will be replaced with the extra-pile set aside during setup of the game.

This extra-pile will only be divided in half when the other pile would also run out in the same round or phase.

So, to end the game only one redraw pile has to run out, not both of them!

Activate People / Infinity Symbol:
People with the Infinity Symbol can be used ALWAYS during the game and there is only one type of Infinity symbol in the game.

Persons with flash symbol: these are activated directly when playing those as one-time-activation. After that they are only good for later victory points. They will NOT be tapped as they cannot be utilised more than once!

Persons with worker symbol: these can be activated ONCE during a round by spending one worker in the shown color of the activation. The cards will be "tapped" and can be retapped in the beginning of the next round (or during phase 4).

Persons with infinity loop symbol: their ability can ALWAYS be used during your turn and there is NO activation cost for that. In my rule explanation video this would be the marble trader who gives you 3 extra florins when using a yellow die that shows the number 4 for collecting money. They will NOT be tapped after usage!

Persons with the laurel wreath symbol: Their only ability is normally to bring you some extra victory points by the end of the game. These will NOT be activated and NOT tapped.

Hope this clarifies it but really THANK YOU very much for your hard work! meeple
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mathue Faulkner
United States
Austin
TX
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JoystickZ wrote:
I found two little error or misleading item in your translation.

If one of the draw piles run out:
The German rules state that game ends after the round where ONE of the redraw piles run out (in phase 1!). Then the pile that is empty will be replaced with the extra-pile set aside during setup of the game.

This extra-pile will only be divided in half when the other pile would also run out in the same round or phase.

So, to end the game only one redraw pile has to run out, not both of them!

Activate People / Infinity Symbol:
People with the Infinity Symbol can be used ALWAYS during the game and there is only one type of Infinity symbol in the game.

Persons with flash symbol: these are activated directly when playing those as one-time-activation. After that they are only good for later victory points. They will NOT be tapped as they cannot be utilised more than once!

Persons with worker symbol: these can be activated ONCE during a round by spending one worker in the shown color of the activation. The cards will be "tapped" and can be retapped in the beginning of the next round (or during phase 4).

Persons with infinity loop symbol: their ability can ALWAYS be used during your turn and there is NO activation cost for that. In my rule explanation video this would be the marble trader who gives you 3 extra florins when using a yellow die that shows the number 4 for collecting money. They will NOT be tapped after usage!

Persons with the laurel wreath symbol: Their only ability is normally to bring you some extra victory points by the end of the game. These will NOT be activated and NOT tapped.

Hope this clarifies it but really THANK YOU very much for your hard work! meeple

On the Draw Pile:
What you said is actually how I interpreted the rules, but I can see how the translation is confusing. When I was first going over that section, however, I had to re-read it several times before I understood what the rules were trying to say...

One the Persons:
Again, I believe that is how I interpreted the rules. There is that section on types of Persons with the Infinity symbol though...

Thank you for the clarifications. As I don't speak any German, my translation was more than a little obtuse, and while the gist of it is correct, I was essentially guessing what Google Translate was trying to say in certain parts.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Markus Weihrauch
Germany
Frankfurt
Hessen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I absolutely understand your difficulties with the Google Translator :-D

I got aware of the unclarities translation of the draw pile and a person with with an infinite symbol because someone mentioned that I did something wrong during my rule explanation video.

The German rules have some nice example pictures which explain those cases pretty well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Horabin
United Kingdom
Hounslow
Middlesex
flag msg tools
badge
It's me!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Great work by everyone... 2 brilliant videos and 2 really useful pieces of translation. Played a 2P game today using the list of card actions and was all very straight forward.

Really enjoyed the game in fact and think there's a lot of depth here.

Am very happy to have picked up a German copy, and with all best bits of BGG in sharing the love, it's going to get plenty of play!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alvaro BF
Spain
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the translation!

Quote:
If one of the draw piles run out

If one of the two piles is empty during this phase, then place the extra cards that were set aside during preparation on the empty pile. The players then fill up her hand as described above.

If one of the draw piles empties again, create a 2nd stack by dividing the remaining stack in half. In this way, two stacks should always available when drawing cards.

If the extra stack is refilled in this way, then this is the last round of play. After this round, the game ends and it follows the final scoring.

Note: Normally, a deck will only run out in Phase 1, "Draw Cards". It may happen that one of the deck runs out of cards in phase 3. In this case, the extra stack is immediately refilled. If this happens, then the next round is the last round.


Does this mean that as soon as one of the piles is empty, this will be the final round of the game? Or does it need to be emptied twice?

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mathue Faulkner
United States
Austin
TX
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JinRoh wrote:
Thanks for the translation!

Quote:
If one of the draw piles run out

If one of the two piles is empty during this phase, then place the extra cards that were set aside during preparation on the empty pile. The players then fill up her hand as described above.

If one of the draw piles empties again, create a 2nd stack by dividing the remaining stack in half. In this way, two stacks should always available when drawing cards.

If the extra stack is refilled in this way, then this is the last round of play. After this round, the game ends and it follows the final scoring.

Note: Normally, a deck will only run out in Phase 1, "Draw Cards". It may happen that one of the deck runs out of cards in phase 3. In this case, the extra stack is immediately refilled. If this happens, then the next round is the last round.


Does this mean that as soon as one of the piles is empty, this will be the final round of the game? Or does it need to be emptied twice?

Thanks

As soon as one is emptied, it will be the end of the game (I believe). The rest of that is if the other deck runs out on that same turn. That part of the translation is a bit confusing, and if I get time then I'll clarify it this weekend.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2  Next »   | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.