Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Ascension: Immortal Heroes» Forums » Rules

Subject: Are soul gems factionless? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Jones
United States
Wilsonville
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
A player this evening played a card with a Unite ability and then, due to another card, pulled Runic Lycanthrope from the soul gem deck. We ruled that he could not use his unite power because the soul gem does not actually state it is a lifebound (even though the "standard" card is). Is this correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Indru
Romania
Timisoara
Timis
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would categorize Soul Gems as ghosts which do not belong to any faction. So they cannot influence the Unite effects.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
davypi wrote:
A player this evening played a card with a Unite ability and then, due to another card, pulled Runic Lycanthrope from the soul gem deck. We ruled that he could not use his unite power because the soul gem does not actually state it is a lifebound (even though the "standard" card is). Is this correct?
Agreed for the same reason... also note that the traits bar makes no mention of "Lifebound Hero"

Also, the iOS version implements them this way too.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Barnett
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Whilst the Soul Gem for Runic Lycanthrope is indeed factionless (and so wouldn't trigger the unite effect on another Lifebound card in play when pulled from the Soul Gem deck), it still benefits from it's own unite ability when played if you have previously played a Lifebound Hero on the same turn (as per its text).

So in your scenario, Runic Lycanthrope should have given 2 runes and 2 power - though, as I say, if you'd already have a Lifebound card in play that required another Lifebound Hero to trigger it's unite effect, the ghost of Runic Lycanthrope would not have triggered it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.