Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Amateurs to Arms!» Forums » Rules

Subject: Minor Campaign rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Bahrke
Gibraltar
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
on minor campaign cards it says that you get additional points of inherent supply & control, my question now is:

a) additional control
means that the commanding leader may lead additional strength points during the attack (so a one star leader could lead more than 5sp) ?

b) additional supply
means that you use another column on the combat result table (for example having 10 additional supply points mean that you roll on the 11-15 column instead of the 1-5 column regardless of the actual army size) ?

tnx for help !

chris
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerry Shiles
msg tools
For a) This is correct, a one star leader can lead/move up to 5 SP's, a two star leader can lead 15, and a 3 star leader can lead 25.

b) You still roll on the combat table with the number of troops that you actually have. However if a one star leader has 10 SP's with him he can now use all of them in combat.

FJtA
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin McPartland
United States
Jessup
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Oliver Hazard Perry leader counter from Amateurs, To Arms! by Clash of Arms Games.
badge
Warrior Band counter for Conquest of Paradise by GMT Games.
Avatar
mb
Jerry, for a) you meant that a one-star leader could lead/move 10 troops with a Minor Campaign; 1-star leaders can always lead 5 troops.

And, if your one star leader with 10 units is Unsupplied, you can still roll on the 6-10 column. (Or, a 2-star leader with 15 units in Partial Supply can roll on the 11-15 column.)

Kevin
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerry Shiles
msg tools
Math is hard.

FJtA
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Bahrke
Gibraltar
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
thank you, jerry and kevin !

but with a minor campaign-card that gives you 10 additional points you can lead/move up to 15 sp`s with a one-star-leader and even if you are unsupplied roll on the 11-15 column (supposed you have at least 11 sp`s with you), right ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin McPartland
United States
Jessup
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Oliver Hazard Perry leader counter from Amateurs, To Arms! by Clash of Arms Games.
badge
Warrior Band counter for Conquest of Paradise by GMT Games.
Avatar
mb
Quote:
a minor campaign-card that gives you 10 additional points

That's actually a major campaign card. But otherwise, exactly right!

In the right situation, a major campaign card can be very powerful! I have seen the American player march Dearborn up with 30 troops to Montreal to "lay siege" to the place. (The American player knew that it would take several attacks to whittle down Montreal's defenses, and he brought along enough troops to take losses over several combats.)

Other card-driven games allow players to move several different expeditions with a "major campaign" card, to allow for coordinated attacks. But this never happened during the War of 1812- the Americans were too inept, and the British did not have the manpower. So in AtA, a major campaign card allows players to do what DID happen during the war: put a lot of eggs in one basket, and make a major push at one objective.

Kevin
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.