Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve Wraxall
United Kingdom
Manchester
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm after some friendly advice please folks.

I'm pretty new to board games in general, but have a few purchases under my belt. Previously I asked for advice on here, on which game to introduce to some NBG friends, from my fledgling collection. 7 Wonders seemed to be the flavour of the day on their kind advice and I tried it on a couple of friends, one enjoyed it, one was 'meh'. I think my 'meh' friend will be like that for whatever I try with him, but that's a lesson learnt.

Suffice to say my knowledge of board games is limited and most I now have, or are in the post, are from reading up on here, rather than having actually played them.

So what I'm actually asking is a recommendation for your ultimate gateway game, or indeed something a bit more challenging.
Timewise I'd have thought 90mins as a max, preferably 60mins, but I'm open to suggestions.
I have Airlines Europe, so I'm reluctant to shell out on Ticket to Ride: Europe. I have bought and tried Discworld: Ankh-Morpork with a family member and am toying with trying that on them.
I have The Castles of Burgundy, Infinite City and Puerto Rico on their way, but have played none of them before.
I also like the look and sound of Ginkgopolis.

What would your next purchase be in my shoes?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Boris Zutic
Serbia
Belgrade
New Belgrade
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

I would suggest that you take a look at Lords of Waterdeep. It's little bit lighter worker placement game. Also Dixit can work really well with non gamers.

Boris
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Wraxall
United Kingdom
Manchester
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
zubor wrote:
Hi,

I would suggest that you take a look at Lords of Waterdeep. It's little bit lighter worker placement game. Also Dixit can work really well with non gamers.

Boris