Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Battlestar Galactica: The Board Game – Exodus Expansion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Passing on Loyalty Cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Harvey O'Brien
Ireland
Dublin
flag msg tools
badge
...easy ...easy ...eeesay...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This query ranges across Pegasus and Exodus given that each rulebook supercedes the previous, but it directly pertains to the new cylon board from Pegasus, and might be technically therefore a Pegasus rather than an Exodus query, I don't know.

The issue is that bit of text about passing on unrevealed loyalty cards, which features on the original gameboard but not on the new cylon board as part of the 'Resurrection ship' location. Is this rule still in effect, and if so where in the rulebook(s) can you find a specific explanation.

The question arose when Cylon President Baltar was (finally) airlocked in our game last night before the sleeper phase. He had an unrevealed loyalty card, but under the 'new' board rules, there was nothing about 'passing it on'. There was a 'Frequently Overlooked Rules' note in the Exodus rules about passing on loyalty cards, but that mentioned 'revealed' cylons, which confused us a bit because he'd been executed, and under the specific instructions for execution, there was nothing about passing on the card. The question was should he have passed on that second facedown loyalty card when he was executed? The reason we wondered was because if it were anyone but Baltar, there wouldn't have been a second card before the sleeper phase anyway, so what was the point of the rule (and it seemed to be gone from the board anyway)?

I'm sure there's some page I'm just not seeing, but I'd like a nice, clean outline of what you're supposed to do with this rule, or a confirmation that the 'new board' supplanted it.

Anyone got any advice?

Again, I'm not sure where this query 'belongs' as it ranges across any version of the game after the base game, but hopefully you'll bear with me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When executed, the unrevealed cylon reveals ONE You Are a Cylon card to prove he's cylon (humans reveal all loyalty cards), then resurrecting. He then passes the rest to one of the other players.

Execution is analogous to reveal except no super crisis and lose all skill cards.

I'm sure this is somewhere in the rules... But probably not very clear.

No, it seems very clear on Pegasus rulebook page 20, and Exodus rulebook page 22. (Strictly, if you don't play with the revised Cylon locations overlay from Pegasus, the hand-off is not automatic, but you may agree otherwise before the game.)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Harvey O'Brien
Ireland
Dublin
flag msg tools
badge
...easy ...easy ...eeesay...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the speedy response. Yes, it's the board overlay that really casts the doubt for me. However, that said, we've always played it as the original rules suggested, even with the expansions. it's just that we started wondering last night (and in the end it didn't matter, because the second cylon (also out before sleeper phase) revealed shortly afterward, so there was no more mystery anyway).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
a1bert wrote:
When executed, the unrevealed cylon reveals ONE You Are a Cylon card to prove he's cylon (humans reveal all loyalty cards), then resurrecting. He then passes the rest to one of the other players.

Execution is analogous to reveal except no super crisis and lose all skill cards.

I'm sure this is somewhere in the rules... But probably not very clear.

No, it seems very clear on Pegasus rulebook page 20, and Exodus rulebook page 22. (Strictly, if you don't play with the revised Cylon locations overlay from Pegasus, the hand-off is not automatic, but you may agree otherwise before the game.)

A quick lookthrough reveals the same thing for me...

Page 7 and page 8 of Exo rulebook states...

Quote:
Execution
There are various effects in this expansion that result in
the EXECUTION of a character. Being executed is extremely
unpleasant and should be avoided at all costs.
When a character is executed, the player controlling that
character performs the following steps.
1. Discard Cards: He discards his hand of Skill Cards.
(Quorum Cards in his hand are unaffected.) He also
discards any Quorum Cards played on his character (for
example, the “Assign Mission Specialist” Quorum Card).
2. Prove Loyalty: If one or more of the player’s Loyalty Cards
is a “You Are a Cylon” card, he reveals one “You Are a
Cylon” card and keeps the rest facedown. (The player
of the executed character does not take the action on
the “You Are a Cylon” Loyalty Card he reveals.) He then
proceeds to step “4. Cylon.”
If all of the player’s Loyalty Cards are “You Are Not a
Cylon” cards, he reveals all of them and proceeds to step ”3. Human.”


step 3 is skipped since it pertains to executed humans.

Quote:
4. Cylon:
A. Move to the “Resurrection Ship” Cylon location.
B. Follow the normal procedure for a revealed Cylon, but
do not draw a Super Crisis Card.
5. End Turn: If the executed character was being played by
the current player, that player’s turn ends, regardless of
whether his character was a human or Cylon.


page 22 Exodus rulebook
Quote:
Handing Off Excess Loyalty Cards
When using the Pegasus expansion, be sure to use the revised
rules described under “Handing Off Excess Loyalty Cards” as
described on page 7 of the Pegasus rulebook.
Execution
The rules for execution are slightly revised for the Exodus
expansion. Use the rules as they are described on page 7 of
this rulebook, even when playing with the Pegasus expansion,
with the following exception. During step 2, “Prove Loyalty,”
a player with one or more “You Are a Cylon” Loyalty Cards
reveals one and gives all his remaining facedown Loyalty Cards
to a human player of his choice, as described on page 12 of the
Pegasus rulebook.


http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_minisite_sec.asp?eidm...
http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/ffg_content/Battlestar_Gal...
Page 3 of 6 of the official FAQ/errata
Quote:
Handing Off Excess Loyalty Cards
Cylons may only hand off excess loyalty cards if Galactica has traveled six or less distance.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Stewart
United Kingdom
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
hob69 wrote:
Thanks for the speedy response. Yes, it's the board overlay that really casts the doubt for me. However, that said, we've always played it as the original rules suggested, even with the expansions. it's just that we started wondering last night (and in the end it didn't matter, because the second cylon (also out before sleeper phase) revealed shortly afterward, so there was no more mystery anyway).


Without the overlay, handing over your excess loyalty cards costs an action at the Resurrection Ship (and can be combined with replacing your super crisis if you have one).

With the overlay, handing over your excess loyalty cards is automatic.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kieron Kelly
Ireland
Dublin 8
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As an observer from a game happening adjacent to the game played by the original poster, I was sure the FAQ in Pegasus clears this up as it says a revealed cylon passes on his cards as long ad they have travelled less then 7 distance. For me this was no problem as even if executed the cylon is 'revealed'

However where the rules have a hole, I believe, is that when this happens before the sleeper phase. Which in this case, happened.

The cylon in question had two loyalty cards because he was baltar and it was before the sleeper phase. But I can't find in the rules why happens to the revealed cylon baltars third card when he receives it after the sleeper phase.

It will only happen to a revealed cylon that reveals before the sleeper.

Logic says he receives the card as normal then passes it on. But it's not specifically said in any rule book as far as I can see.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Warnken
United States
Harrison
Ohio
flag msg tools
I'm not crazy. My mother had me tested.
badge
Happy grandfather!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Pegasus rulebook page 7 covers this. See the second bullet point under Handing Off Excess Loyalty Cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ismael Kenig
Brazil
Brasília
Distrito Federal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I was about to ask the same question. Thank you all for the answers
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.