Chris Buhl
United States
Northampton
MA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've heard two different takes. The rules say those countries become part of Germany - does that mean their cities are now home cities?

Thanks,
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Uwe A. Redjac
China
Beijing
Beijing
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Yes, they are. As you already said: Austria and Czechosolvakia become part of Germany when they are ceded.

Quote:
13.8.1 Ceding Lands
If a Ceded Lands marker says a particular area has been "ceded to" a Country, that area is part of the Country named on that marker.
You may as well erase their borders and names from the map then and name it all just Germany. And any city in a hex of Germany is a German Home City as per the glossary:

Quote:
Home Country City or Home Country Port: A City or Port in a Land hex of a unit’s respective Home Country.
Btw - these cities becoming Home Country Cities is pretty much the only difference between an area being "ceded to" and an are just "becoming a Dependent" here. Without that, there would be no difference and thus no point in making a difference.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jean-Yves Moyen
Denmark
København
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
uweareuter wrote:
Btw - these cities becoming Home Country Cities is pretty much the only difference between an area being "ceded to" and an are just "becoming a Dependent" here. Without that, there would be no difference and thus no point in making a difference.
Actually, there are a few other subtle differences:
* Treaties work on countries that are either adjacent to Axis countries or German dependant. Well, I don't think it is possible to cede lands to minors, but typically you cannot use Albania (an Italian, thus usually Axis, dependant, but neither an Axis country nor a German dependant) to make a Treaty on Greece. OTOH, even if Denmark is only ceded as a dependant (no reinforcement in Copenhagen), this still open the way to Treaty Sweden.

* More importantly, during reserve movement, corps on road do not get the road bonus in active enemy countries. But they do get it in enemy dependants. This slows a bit the German reinforcement going deep in Russia. But it allows one to run in North Africa a bit faster... This typically can allow some rapid move after disembarking in Occupied France (which is only a dependant) in some situations.


Also, Prague, Vienna (and Metz or Posen, which are also in regions ceded to Germany) are not only reinforcement points put supply sources and also SH in Germany, thus they trigger the prolongation in the combined game by avoiding unconditional surrender (as explain at the VE-day marker rules).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls