Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Texas Glory: 1835-36» Forums » Rules

Subject: Storming after winning field battle optional? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Yiannis Hadjikyriakou
United Kingdom
Brighton
East Sussex
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In my first game a few days ago, we had a situation where the Texans attacked Golliad and where the Mexican decided to fight in the field, with the arty having to sit it out in the fort as per the rules. The Texans eliminated the Mexican field army, and the rules say the victor of the field battle may storm. The Texan player decided they didn't want to storm, and we weren't sure if it was compulsory or not.

The rules say they *may* storm, not *must* storm, but the option to pass is not explicitly stated. We thought the field battle victory must automatically trigger a siege, otherwise it is an illegal board position, but this wasn't clear from the rules. And if this is the case, and the Texans decide to pass, can the Mexican artillery cannonade?

We played it that a pass was allowed, but no cannonade, but we weren't comfortable with that interpretation.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Willner
msg tools
mb
Victory in a field battle in a fort area does trigger a siege, assuming some defenders in the field battle have gone back into the fort or it at least has an artillery garrison (with a strength of more than 1 so it doesn't just surrender).

But the permissive "may" in the rules is intentional - the besieger who won the field battle does not have to storm. He could cannonade instead, or just pass. And his options chosen then affect what the besieged player may do - also cannonade, for example, if the besieger has not stormed or done a cannonade of his own, or just pass. Both players may end up doing nothing, and just continuing the siege, with the risk of supply attrition.

Carl
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.