Popular Tags: [View All]
Andy B
United States
Westerville
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Okay, I'm pretty new to this game. I own the core set and both Hobbit expansions. I've yet to crack to hobbit boxes though.

I beat the first scenario -- the "easy" scenario -- after 5 or 6 tries (first trying the tactics deck because that seemed cool [not possible for me] then finally with the leadership deck and a bit of the tactics deck sprinkled in [barely possible for me]).

Now, I've been getting slaughtered by one mean-ass troll and friends while on the river cruise. Oh, how I've suffered. I quickly learned to give up on the fantasy of "exploring" this world with the same deck from the first scenario through the last and ended up following Beorn's advice (from that Hall of Beorn guy [http://hallofbeorn.wordpress.com/]) and created a leadership/lore deck.

It's funny how Beorn hit on all the right cards when he playtested his deck. I haven't been lucky at all. As a matter of fact I've made the wrong decision at every turn and have pulled the wrong card at every draw. It's almost supernatural how bad it's been for me.

My wife has even threatened to throw the game away if I don't stop all the cussin'. I can't think of anything else to do but cuss though.

Anyway, with that off my chest, I'd like to say that I am looking forward to tackling that boat ride one more time tomorrow evening for the 6th night in a row. It might be taking a long time but I'm learning a little more each game and it's actually kind of fun.

Dang, what a blood bath!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Wheal
United States
Kosse
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Even the CardboardoftheRings guys had to play this one twice...

http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL6agV3Ll1nNihJiCSotL0i...

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hank B
United States
Arlington Heights
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb