We played this last night and liked it despite playing "Campaign Trail" wrong (doubling all VP earned in a turn instead of just tokens).
But, I'm wondering if we missed some rule regarding the 7 Wonders connection. I see in the Designer Diary it sounds like it may have included a "pass a card to the left" mechanism during prototyping, but that it was taken out. But, the explanation sheet that draws the comparisons to other games still implies a 7 Wonders connection. Is there something obviously borrowed from 7 Wonders that we missed?