Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Twilight Imperium (Third Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Warfare II SC rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
buckel
Austria
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi, fellow players,
I have some trouble combining the text on the Warfare II SC, the explanation text in the rulebook and the newest FAQ. Please help:

Text on Warfare II SC (SE rulebook, page 16):
"Place the High Alert token in a system. Your ships in the system with the token gain +1 movement and +1 on all combat rolls. If you move any ships from this system, you may move the token with them."

Explanation (SE rulebook, page 16):
The new Warfare Strategy Card allows the active player to place one of his or her systems on “High Alert,” which is indicated with the High Alert token. All the players ships that are in the system on High Alert receive +1 movement and +1 to rolls during Space Combat. This bonus does not apply to pre-combat abilities and does not affect Ground Forces during Invasion Combat. The active player may optionally move the “High Alert” token with any ships that move out of the system, or he may leave the token where it is.

FAQ and Errata, Version 2.5 – Updated 3/27/2012 - page 1
The term “combat roll” is inclusive. It covers any instance in which you roll a die and compare the result to a unit’s combat value to determine whether or not an enemy casualty has been inflicted. This includes PDS fire and all pre-combat abilities that are compared to a unit’s combat value.

FAQ and Errata, Version 2.5 – Updated 3/27/2012 - page 2
Effects that add to or modify results during “Space Combat” should be interpreted as during “Space Battles.” Effects that take place during “Space Battles” or “Invasion Combat” specifically make reference only to variables within the Space Battle Sequence and the Invasion Combat Sequence. Thus, if an ability grants you +1 to your dice during Space battles, this bonus is only applied during step 2 of the Space Battles Sequence (“roll combat dice”), and does not affect any other rolls, including pre-combat effects, PDS, bombardment, etc.

So far, so good. Now...

The SC text says "...+1 on all combat rolls..." and the FAQ explains that the term "combat roll" includes PDS & pre-combat & Invasion combat sequence.

The rulebook explanation talks about "...+1 to rolls during Space Combat...", the FAQ explains that "Space combat should be interpreted as Space battle" and therefore does *NOT* include PDS & pre-combat & Invasion combat sequence.

So, does the Hight Alert Token provide
a) +1 to all combat rolls ?!
OR
b) +1 to all rolls during step 2 of the Space Battles Sequence only ?!

Thanks for your answers
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The High Alert Token specifically only gives your SHIPS +1 to their combat rolls. ("Place the High Alert token in a system. Your ships in the system with the token gain +1 movement and +1 on all combat rolls. If you move any ships from this system, you may move the token with them.") So PDS would not be affected at all.

It would not affect PDS fire or invasion combat (except maybe bombardment*), because PDS and Ground Forces are not ships.


* Since bombardment compares a roll to a combat value, by definition it's a combat roll. I'm not sure if Bombardment was intended to be affected by the HAT though.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Damerell
msg tools
sigmazero13 wrote:
It would not affect PDS fire or invasion combat (except maybe bombardment*), because PDS and Ground Forces are not ships.

* Since bombardment compares a roll to a combat value, by definition it's a combat roll. I'm not sure if Bombardment was intended to be affected by the HAT though.


The other edge case is Fighters with Graviton Negator; also a combat roll by a ship, but not during Space Combat.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.